To all of you who want 4 GB of Ram w/ 32 bit OS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2007, 08:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default To all of you who want 4 GB of Ram w/ 32 bit OS

[OC]ModShop - Enable 4GB of memory on Vista
__________________

motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 09:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: To all of you who want 4 GB of Ram w/ 32 bit OS

You can do the same thing in XP via the boot.ini:
The RAM reported by the System Properties dialog box and the System Information tool is less than you expect in Windows Vista or in Windows XP Service Pack 2

just add "/PAE" to the end
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 09:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 135
Default Re: To all of you who want 4 GB of Ram w/ 32 bit OS

Pae Sux
__________________
Antec 900 - HOUSE
CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX - PSU
Asus P5K Deluxe - MOBO
Intel Q6600 - CPU
Crucial Ballistix 4GB DDR2 800 - RAM
BFG 8800 GT - GPU
Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Sound
WD SATA II Caviar 250GB with 16MB Cache - HD
ASUS 18X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe - DVD
Windows Vista Ultimate 64-BIT - OS
Mechtech3000 is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 09:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: To all of you who want 4 GB of Ram w/ 32 bit OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechtech3000 View Post
Pae Sux
why does PAE suck?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 02:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default Re: To all of you who want 4 GB of Ram w/ 32 bit OS

/PAE should work fine.
Mr. LL is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 03:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: To all of you who want 4 GB of Ram w/ 32 bit OS

doesn't it say that PAE theoretically makes your pc run slower?
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 04:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default Re: To all of you who want 4 GB of Ram w/ 32 bit OS

I don't think so, we run /PAE on all our servers but maybe it's different on XP.
Mr. LL is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 08:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: To all of you who want 4 GB of Ram w/ 32 bit OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThirdLeft152 View Post
doesn't it say that PAE theoretically makes your pc run slower?
if you run more than 4GB, I think.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 08:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: To all of you who want 4 GB of Ram w/ 32 bit OS

what exactly do i do. I did not understand any of that,.
__________________
A hero need not speak. When he is gone, the world will speak for him.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 08:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: To all of you who want 4 GB of Ram w/ 32 bit OS

open the boot.ini with notepad, and add "/pae" to the end of it
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Go with vista 64 bit, or go with xp home av8706 System Upgrades 11 12-08-2007 10:24 PM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM
Windows XP 64 bit Ethereal_Dragon Microsoft Windows and Software 12 09-25-2007 03:50 PM
RAM Probelems...maybe? cfgcjm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-20-2007 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.