alienware or xps - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2005, 01:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to stishdr
Default

sweet, thanks for the input, i will definetly start looking into building a new pc. I pretty much looking for one that can do some frickin intense gaming (like sli mobo, dual 7800's, etc) and a really nice dual core processor. so thanks.
__________________

stishdr is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 04:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I'm still not seeing why these fellows need two 7800's... One card runs any real application out there. That's a really expensive vanity benchmark score...

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 04:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i would have to say XPS, but XPS dont have amd so there i would have to say alienware for once...WOW
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 04:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 47
Default

only current purpose for dualies is benchmarking, thats it. Unless you have a leeked copy of UT2007 that doesn't exist yet (which still wouldn;t require dualies)
BSill is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 05:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default

Im not even gonna bother telling you to build your own but will post my personal opinion. Dell sucks. Period.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 05:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 47
Default

wit PP build your own (pssss: use atir520xt)
BSill is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 03:11 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default

Im amazed to see so many people recomend the XPS over AlienWare. They are both expensive, yes, but an XPS is more Overpriced and has less choice when building, compared to AlienWare, and AW would just build you a better machine anyway. Dell XPS sucks, period. AW is expensive, but atleast they build you a machine with quality parts, that you would use if building yourself, and its totally upgradable just like if you build yourself.

I would NEVER even think about getting a Dell if I wanted a high end gaming rig. You people are crazy.
Tro1086 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 09:08 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

i was reading the thread and the same thing crossed my mind.
alienware over dell.but it is better to build it yourself.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 09:46 PM   #19 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

yeah i wouldnt buy neither
fr34ky is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 08:38 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BSill
wit PP build your own (pssss: use atir520xt)
um....no, dont do that, if u have the searched the web, ATIs first next gen card performs identically to the 7800GTX, wait for the R580 or nvidias G72 if u can

and by the way, for 4500, you could get an INSANE computer, dont go dell or ALienware

BUT if you dont want to build, there are sites that build pc for almost identically wut it would cost you

try: www.monarchcomputersystems.com
and www.digitalstormonline.com
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.