Alienware Questions: - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2006, 01:34 AM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
okay well in amd... just think whatever the number... like 3700+ = too a 3.7 ghz pentium....
You're joking...right? This isn't correct at all. Is it? No, it can't be....
__________________

__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 01:38 AM   #22 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ya, thats what i thought too.... its something about more work per clock cycle....
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 01:41 AM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 50
Default

Ok im realllly confused about this "liquid cooling" that they advertise.


I dont understand.. my computer is noisy. And i remember ordering liquid cooling, or maybe i didnt!?!?



With liquid cooling should my computer be silent? Do i not have it if its not silent? Or does liquid cooling just make it a little less noisy.
__________________
a
Sell224 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 01:43 AM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sickness
You're joking...right? This isn't correct at all. Is it? No, it can't be....
well supposedly this is correct. while i have not looked at any benchmarks myself i do not know this for a fact but that is what everyone says on TF so that what i am saying as well. As for learning about computers... i had no idea about anything other than you want a lot of mhz and gigabytes...lol...now my title is true techie or something like that...lol...it just takes some reading and a few weeks on these forums
__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 01:51 AM   #25 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

and as for semprons that goes with the celerons... 2700+ sempron is equal to a 2.7 ghz celeron
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 01:55 AM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Yes, the P-rating (3700, 3800, etc.) can ONLY be used to compare "equivalent" AMDs and Intels.

The Alienice video cooling may be different than liquid cooling. I know it sounds like liquid cooling, but i remember checking it out once a while ago and it wasnt.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 01:17 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

no... alienice is just a fan ... on the side facing a vid card ....... i have it cause i also have alienware umm... nice rig there man .. if oyu have any more alienware spefic questions than pm me
!!!!!
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 01:21 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

oo and video optimers is an ampped up version of powerstrip ... tis should be on your task bar .. its for ocing and hotkeying and such
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 03:40 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default

does alienware have an unlocked bios?
__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 05:45 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

yes .. its a normal mobo.....
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.