Alienware processor probs - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2006, 07:02 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default

the nvidia card Im pretty sure supports pixel shader 3.0, I cant find any info on the ati card though.

ps you can edit posts with the edit button to the left
__________________

__________________
CPU - E6400 Core 2 Duo @ 3.2ghz
Cooling - Zalman CNPS9500
Motherboard - Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Memory - OCZ PC2-8000 Platinum XTC 2GB (2x1024MB)
Video - BFG 8800 GTX OC
DVD - LG Super Multi
HD - WD Raptor 36gb
HD2 - Maxtor Diamondmax 10 250gb
PSU - Corsair HX Series CMPSU-620HX 620W
Case - Cooler Master Centurion 5
Sound - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
iamchel is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 08:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

definitely the 7600 as it lines up with the x1600/x850 series i believe.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 09:41 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by iamchel
the nvidia card Im pretty sure supports pixel shader 3.0, I cant find any info on the ati card though.

ps you can edit posts with the edit button to the left
]

I do believe all Nvidia Cards 6 series and up support PS 3.0
Sharpy is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 10:07 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 58
Default

Please don't try to game with a laptop in general.. I bought one two years ago (Dell Inspiron 8600) and it really couldn't handle games, and heat was a huge problem (temps around 75C).

If you need portability for word processing/internet, get a refurb lappy or cheap Dell lappy.

If you want to game, get a desktop. If you want a cheap(er) desktop, build if yourself.

Trust me, I've made that mistake in the past and here I am now building my own PC b/c my lappy can't handle crap for games.

RM
__________________
RIG: Core2Duo E6700 | ASUS P5W Deluxe | eVGA 7950GX2 | Corsair XMS2 2GB
WD Raptor 10K RPM 36GB | WD Caviar 200GB | Scythe Ninja | Logitech G15
Aerocool ExtremEngine 3T | OCZ GamerXStream 700W | Viewsonic 19\" VX922
Microsoft Intellimouse Optical Black (old school fo sho!)
RhythmMgmnt is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 01:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
definitely the 7600 as it lines up with the x1600/x850 series i believe.
Geforce GO cards are watered down, a Go 7600 is not equivelent to a 7600 that you would install in a desktop
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 05:08 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default

hmmm....

well, would this be sufficient enough to play Dark Age of Camelot at medium? I really doubt i'll play anything more intensive than that. I am not a hardcore gamer, I just play every now and then. After playing Oblivion on the 360 i really am not interested anymore.

I called two different independent computer shops today and both the techs told me that those games don't take advantage of the core duo's dual-processing so even if i bought a desktop with a 1.6ghz core duo and a decent video card, the processor wouldn't be enough to run DAoC......

oh well. I'm not going to buy it, but all this misinformation/information about the core duo's is making me question them a lot. I was told also that the core duo's have major problems and have 30+ flaws that are going to be addressed by intel on the next revision....i'm confused.

this is pretty sad, in high school i won state in computer science and now i am here asking for help... lol
preload is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 05:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default

Its amazing how quickly technology advanced eh My dad is still using an old 333mhz celeron, we just gave away our old 486
__________________
CPU - E6400 Core 2 Duo @ 3.2ghz
Cooling - Zalman CNPS9500
Motherboard - Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Memory - OCZ PC2-8000 Platinum XTC 2GB (2x1024MB)
Video - BFG 8800 GTX OC
DVD - LG Super Multi
HD - WD Raptor 36gb
HD2 - Maxtor Diamondmax 10 250gb
PSU - Corsair HX Series CMPSU-620HX 620W
Case - Cooler Master Centurion 5
Sound - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
iamchel is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 05:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default

lol, the comp i am using now is a dell with 366mhz, 64mb ram and win98.

Oh, I called another place and was told that the core 2 duo T2300 is only 1.66ghz when both cores are being used, so each core is only around 660mhz. Is that true?
preload is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 05:48 PM   #19 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

no... its each core runs at 1.66 ghz... and don't listen to the ghz rating.. its nothing 1.8 ghz opteron 165 dual core will run anything... literally anything... do not think of it as a combined thing... its not 1.66x2... or anything like that

ghz ratings are a thing of the past.. its how much they do per clock cycle... not the speed of the clock cycle

that intel core duo will outdo a 3.2 ghz pentium 4 in super pi.. and that is a single core program
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 06:09 PM   #20 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

lol. even if u do get a laptop, dont get an ailenware. dell bought ailenware, so that means that dell/ailenware = devil
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.