Alienware memory upgrade help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2007, 10:23 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Default Re: Alienware memory upgrade help

I went on alienware for fun and got the most expensive computer ever... Total cost...




About $19,684.99 (USD) lol. I want it .
__________________

Pastasauce is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:28 AM   #12 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Alienware memory upgrade help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pastasauce View Post
I went on alienware for fun and got the most expensive computer ever... Total cost...




About $19,684.99 (USD) lol. I want it .
Go to Falcon Northwest and you can build one for a lot more than that.
__________________

motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:39 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xXDuskXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 220
Default Re: Alienware memory upgrade help

19000....you can probably build one with that same or similar for less than 7000
__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v401/Degeta/ra.jpg

the blood drive is a pyramid scheme perpetrated by dracula and his night slaves
xXDuskXx is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:45 AM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Alienware memory upgrade help

Quote:
Originally Posted by vjw757
what does dual channel mean?
Dual channel is a technology to help reduce bottlenecks, between the RAM and processor. And the technology works by increasing the amount of memory bandwidth available. Basically it's like adding another lane to a highway to reduce traffic, and also to increase the flow of traffic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vjw757
so you guys are saying that i would be good with getting myself 2 of these for my alienware m9700.

OCZ 1GB PC3200 DDR 400 SODIMM LAPTOP RAM MEMORY
You're going to buy two of that, for $200+? The performance, is no different from the cheaper RAM, that I suggested at newegg.com........Heres a cheaper one that will work just as well:
Newegg.com - OCZ Value Series 1GB 200-Pin DDR SO-DIMM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Notebook Memory - Retail
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 01:50 AM   #15 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Alienware memory upgrade help

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Dual channel is a technology to help reduce bottlenecks, between the RAM and processor. And the technology works by increasing the amount of memory bandwidth available. Basically it's like adding another lane to a highway to reduce traffic, and also to increase the flow of traffic.



You're going to buy two of that, for $200+? The performance, is no different from the cheaper RAM, that I suggested at newegg.com........Heres a cheaper one that will work just as well:
Newegg.com - OCZ Value Series 1GB 200-Pin DDR SO-DIMM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Notebook Memory - Retail
hey b1gapl, is it possible to put my 1GB DDR 333 in dual channel with a 1GB DDR 400? Or would i have to OC the 333 to meet with the 400?

this is just a question ive always had in my head on how to make my computer dual channel, that is if i get it up n running anytime soon.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 02:00 AM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Alienware memory upgrade help

Wildside, I believe that in order to have Dual channel functionality, the sticks of RAM have to be matching. Matching just the speed likely won't do it.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
Memory Upgrade, computer still slow! bonoz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-20-2007 06:15 PM
Memory Upgrade Problem Lukus Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-01-2007 05:52 PM
Memory Upgrade on Older PC ymsbrocks Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-04-2007 05:14 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.