AlienIce™ 2.0 Video Cooling - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2005, 01:05 PM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

ok ok well i they may yhave sent me a different mobo and graphics card so it might be alittle better ... idk because they havent gotten back to me yet......Alienware® nForce™4 SLI™ Chipset Motherboard PCI Express and this graphics card 128MB PCI-Express x16 NVIDIA® GeForce™ 6200TC is that any better ?
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:26 PM   #32 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Dude I really hate to say this, but you would have probably gotten a better deal with Dell.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:31 PM   #33 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

now that i think abotu it maybe but .. is that stuff any better than the stuff in my sig ?
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:31 PM   #34 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Well w/ that mobo and video its a LITTLE better but your still paying alot more than you should have.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:36 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

ok thats the same mobo that alienware uses in most of there pcs.... ok well thanks anyway this leaves me with a pci-e slot and a cheesy graphics card .. i should go up to a 6800gt right????
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:53 PM   #36 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Yea i'd go with a 6800GS, its' just as good as the GT but its' only $200
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 12:31 PM   #37 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Theyoyokid303
ok ok well i they may yhave sent me a different mobo and graphics card so it might be alittle better ... idk because they havent gotten back to me yet......Alienware® nForce™4 SLI™ Chipset Motherboard PCI Express and this graphics card 128MB PCI-Express x16 NVIDIA® GeForce™ 6200TC is that any better ?
I second the 6800GS, not only does it overclock really well, it's cheaper and performs better in some cases than the 6800GT.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 07:32 PM   #38 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 156
Default

The mobo will do but the only thing is that you should not count the video card and buy the 6800 GS. How much is Alienware asking for the 6200 TC ( Turbo Cache, is just a way the video card relays information from the video card memory to system memory when it needs to, which means that the video card doesn't actually perform quicker, it has larger areas to swap information easier no real gain in performance though!
__________________
There are only Two things in life i regret doing... 1. Selling my Soul for Cash.... 2. Buying a Compaq.... I should have kept the Cash, huh.
wedge_00 is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 08:19 PM   #39 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

well ... i got it and it has the agp 9550se i want to upgrade that soon ... what should i get .....? i hear the 6800 agp is no longer manufatured .... and btw whats a good oc for the 9550se i want to get some oc practice with it ....
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 08:47 PM   #40 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

not much...... Wait a minute. You really didnt even need to buy from alienware or dell. HEY you could have bought a pre built pc from www.newegg.com. What would have been maximum spendable money?
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.