Ahhhh!!!! Still Stuck Around! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2006, 07:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
Default Ahhhh!!!! Still Stuck Around!

OMG my computer is still being slow. i thought from my previous post about the ram etc that i fixed it, but its still here.

this is so frustrating. my problem is my computer is going slowly after all ive done is move it 90 degrees counter clockwise. in Day Of Defeat: Source i used to get 50fps on my ati radeon 9250, now i get 9fps. i dont know what is wrong, ive tested my ram, my memory, my cpu, my hdd and its all good.

but something is wrong and i dont know what. can someone please help me before i go insane!?

jeremytfdm is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 09:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed

what did you move 90 degrees? just the case????????

bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 09:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21

yeah. well i moved the desk i had my computer on 90 degrees to lean on another wall. and now its chucked a sad and gone slow.

care to provide an answer, i cant .

Thanks, Regards Jeremy
jeremytfdm is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 11:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
lancec2c30's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30

huh that is a tough one.

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 08:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078

Are you blocking airflow? Maybe its overheating. Causing your video card to overheat.
dario03 is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 02:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21

yeah this is tough. ive concidered blocking air flow so ive opened my case and put a full 30 cm pedastool fan infront there and it didnt change it one bit.

i seriously dont know what is wrong .

*edit* i just launched WMP and IE again and my comp lagged out.. so i tried launching guitar pro 5 and it said my cpu usage was at 80%. so i got my dad to help me and i cleared out my cpu fan and i put new silicon heat cream on my cpu to transfer heat. but that did nothing unfortuneately. so frustrating >.<. when i was looking through a list of google results the page took like 3 seconds to scroll down its unbelievable slow especially for my computer anyway. does anyone want my specs? if not i dont want to post em because at times it gets annoying :P so yeah.
jeremytfdm is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 04:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

it's most likely coincidence that it started being slow at the same time you moved the case.. run hijackthis and see if it helps
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 06:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21

well yes it did start when i moved my case, so to make sure it wasnt windows that was corrupt i formatted.. and its still slow. ill run hijackthis aswell.. what did u need from it?
jeremytfdm is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 09:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692

ur computer hates its new home. =D
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 09:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 213

is it possible wen u were moving everything u may have bumped it? did u try taking mem out and putting bak in to make sure it wasnt bout to fall out... 1 other thing could be ur GPU is biting the dirt... do u have another old card u could put in and see?

these are all suggestions... i had this problem b4 but it was my ram flakin out...

List ur Specs for me if u dont mind... do u have 2 512 stix of ram or what... because when i had this problem i had 2x512mb stix and 1 was bad...BUT it would pass ALL memory tests... weird i no

MSI P6N SLI-FI NForce 650i
2x1gigs 667mhz OCZ
36gb Raptor
80gig SATA Hitachi HD
500gb Seagate 32mb Cache HD
EVGA 8800GT SC 512mb
Ultra X2 X-connect 550w PSU
ProView 22" 1680x1050
BuddyRo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.