AGP-PCI-E adaptor??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2007, 04:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 83
Send a message via AIM to jobmitsuo
Default AGP-PCI-E adaptor???

Basically what i am looking to do is build a new rig, but i got a 7800gs AGP.... but dont see the point in buying a mobo with AGP.... but at the same time dont see the point in shelling out money for an equal card for PCI-E or for the 8x series quite yet being so expensive and all. So, looking to see if there is an adaptor out there where i can use an AGP card in a PCI-E 16x slot so i dont have to buy a new card right away.... Thanks in advance for any help.
__________________

jobmitsuo is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 04:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default

As far as I know, the adaptor you speak of doesn't exist.

The only thing I can suggest is getting an Asrock 939Dual-VSTA or 775DUAL-VSTA mobo. They both have a PCIE and an AGP slot, so you can keep your 7800GS, and upgrade later.

I have the s939 version, and i'm very pleased with it. It overclocks my Opteron really well for a budget board.

Good luck.
__________________

__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 05:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Dang b0dge,You actually beat me this time

As b0dge said the Asrock's are pretty decent budget board's,I'm more than happy with mine
Shumway is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 07:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway
Dang b0dge,You actually beat me this time

As b0dge said the Asrock's are pretty decent budget board's,I'm more than happy with mine
Heh, sorry bout that! Right place, right time i guess!

Oh, jobmitsuo, if you do get one of the Asrock boards, Shumway helped me out a lot with setting it up, so if you need any pointers, ask one of us... (But I know only what I learned from the Asrock master.....!)
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 07:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

ecs has a motherboard like that too. but ecs makes terribly unstable motherboards.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 12:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 83
Send a message via AIM to jobmitsuo
Default

Found exactly what i need. Albatron and ATI both made adapters that allow AGP cards on a PCI-E mobo, but neither company are currently selling the product... so gonna try ebay and someother places to see if i can find one, but if anyone else can find another company that is currently producing the things that would be great. So far i havent had any luck but i'm still searching, anyway, thanks again for any help.
jobmitsuo is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 12:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Argh-beat me to it. There is an adapter, as you've found, but I don't think it proved very popular so it may be hard to find. Hopefully you're able to locate one, it'll save you a heck of a lot of money since now you can use your agp card and wait for dx10 to become affordable.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 01:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

Could anyone refresh me on the PCI to AGP ratio. 8x AGP = 2x PCI-E?
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 05:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default

Well, knock me down with a feather, there IS such a thing!

Every day's a school day....

I can't find one anywhere though, not on ebay, nowhere. Hope you do find one, because like jorsoft03 said, it will save you some cash.
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 04:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 83
Send a message via AIM to jobmitsuo
Default

Hells yea... Saving cash also means i can pour more money into the ram and proc on the initial build hehe... But yea, so far no luck whatsoever >_< One last hope i can think of is the fact that every other month there is a Computer Fair about 45 min drive from me... several of the venders sell harder to find and older stuff for dirt cheap... like the guy who was selling 2GB drives for 0.50$ a piece lolz... hopefully i'll find me a dumpster diver who happens to have one lying around... other option is directly contacting the companies that used to produce them and ask if they got any lying round in storage or something.... one mans trash is another's treasure ^_^
__________________

jobmitsuo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.