Agp Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2005, 11:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default Agp Card

can someone tell me a good agp card for me to get that is mid range and can run games now and in the near future at medium setttings? (CANADIAN PRICE)
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...460940&CatId=0
im thinkin about gettin that card??
my specs are

2 ghz
1gig
300 watt power supply

i dont wanna upgrade my power supply to upgrade my card
__________________

quest1on is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 11:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

no there is none. get a new motherboard with pci-e and raise your power supply to 450.
__________________

efd753 is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 11:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

6800gt but they dont make em anymore. Actually there is efd in ati the x800 series. creepy
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 11:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

alright question instead of getting that 6600 with 256 mb get a 6600gt with 128 mb. the extra 256 mb wont help you at all. and the 6600gt is way better and cost about the same.
efd753 is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 12:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Quote:
no there is none. get a new motherboard with pci-e and raise your power supply to 450.
If you aren't going to try to help, just keep the wisecracks to yourself, eh?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 12:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

A 6800 GT or 6800 GS should handle your needs. But they are not easy to find right now.

A 6600 GT would work.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 12:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by efd753
alright question instead of getting that 6600 with 256 mb get a 6600gt with 128 mb. the extra 256 mb wont help you at all. and the 6600gt is way better and cost about the same.
ur talking about this card right?
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...2887&CatId=880
it says i would need a 350 watt and i have a 300 watt do you think ill still be able to run it?? and not have to get a power suppply?
quest1on is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 01:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

depending on the power requirements of your other components, you may need a new psu.

check this out: http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 01:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default

u guys think i should get this card?? i want it to run for liek future games on atleast like medium settings
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...184256&CatId=0
__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 01:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

That'd do the trick.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.