AGENA and KUMA details... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2007, 12:06 PM   #21 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AGENA and KUMA details...

^^i dunno...^^
but i know my 4200 didnt do any better in the evga 590 mobo. well, a little...but not much.
not enough to justify to myself the expenditure of another 100.00.
i think i am going to RMA it and go ahead and get an x2 3600. just to see how it does in my abit. if it fares no better, i will still be able to use it in my moms upcoming build.
now that i have tried a 590 mobo and not really seen any better results, i really that my 4200 has hit its ceiling. because it wont go past 2.9 no matter the fsb or multiplier. ie, i can get to 2.9 with a high fsb and a low multi, or with a low fsb and high multi. but it aint goin no higher.
we'll see what the brisbane can do on my abit.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 07:42 PM   #22 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: AGENA and KUMA details...

from what the other guy says it should work as these chips will be AM2 compatiable, but i wonder can the mobo's utilise the 4000 Hypertransport Link
__________________

darksideleader is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 07:52 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AGENA and KUMA details...

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideleader View Post
from what the other guy says it should work as these chips will be AM2 compatiable, but i wonder can the mobo's utilise the 4000 Hypertransport Link
I know they'll work in AM2. And no, they won't get the 4GHZ HTT bus unless they're in an AM2+ board.

Which is why I'm wondering how well they'll do in an AM2 board with only a 2GHZ HTT bus.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 08:09 PM   #24 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AGENA and KUMA details...

they definitely wont be as fast (lol obviously). but i think they will be a vast improvement over the am2 chips in terms of speed and overclock ability. of course...we're all spoiled by the massive overclocks of c2d, and i dont think we will settle for a new cpu that doesnt perform as good or better under the same circumstances.
hopefully, the big-wigs at amd understand this. im sure they do, and i have a feeling that kuma is going to be a monster to be reckoned with.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 06:50 AM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: AGENA and KUMA details...

Intel is planning to release QX6850 for $999 in Q3 2007. QX6850 will have 3.0GHz clock speed and 1333 MHz front-side-bus

DailyTech - Intel Readies Core 2 Extreme QX6850

............

I hope that this new intel Quad core processor kick AMD's ***
maroon1 is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 08:55 AM   #26 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: AGENA and KUMA details...

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Intel is planning to release QX6850 for $999 in Q3 2007. QX6850 will have 3.0GHz clock speed and 1333 MHz front-side-bus

DailyTech - Intel Readies Core 2 Extreme QX6850

............

I hope that this new intel Quad core processor kick AMD's ***
I Doubt it, all it is just a slgihtly better improved Kensfield, 2 conroes bolted together like how Pentium D's are made. Slow bus compared to K8L's and no L3 cache. Kensfield is not even double socketed so this guy will get out dated real fast as AMD comes out with Barcelona, Kuma and Agena and Intel will switch to Clovertown and Penrym.

It took intel 5 years to beat the Athlon 64 proccesor. I'm counting how much months Conroe is making the performance crown .
darksideleader is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 11:17 AM   #27 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: AGENA and KUMA details...

AMD also says that their quad cores, are about 40% faster than Intel's quads.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 12:56 PM   #28 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AGENA and KUMA details...

what did the five amd's say to the face?
SLAP!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 11:14 PM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AGENA and KUMA details...

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
AMD also says that their quad cores, are about 40% faster than Intel's quads.
well, up to 40%
which probably means lower on average, but still significant.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 11:51 PM   #30 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: AGENA and KUMA details...

i bet Agena FX is going to do a good job, the only downside of this quad-core CPU, is that it will consume 120w that ive read.

i thought since Agena FX is a 65nm, shouldnt it consume less power to achieve higher performance? Because it's messed up that it consumes 120w.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.