ageia physx ?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2006, 03:39 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

doesnt games that use source really benefit from this if u have a bad processor??????
Cause source really looks like it uses a lot of physics.....
And cause that and BF2 are the only games i play
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 07:32 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

i still think that when the motherboard companies have to make new sockets for there boards (am2) that they will integrate physx on to some of the higher dollar ones... Eh, it will become standard soon enough
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 08:07 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

how can hl2 and bf2 benefits from this if theses games werent coded for the physcard? there is no game that will benefits from it right now. Is a waste of money, beside the first ones are gona have alot of bugs with then. wait a couple fo years and maybe i would buy one.
efd753 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 10:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

yeah it would...every game is designed to have physics.. the physx cards just take the load off the cpu and vid card..
Static_11 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 10:25 AM   #15 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

No it wouldn't. It will only work for games that use a certian physics engine (and it will have to be updated to support physx), I forgot what it is called.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 11:55 AM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

OMFG!!! People... READ!!! All questions can be answered by reading... http://www.ageia.com/

There will be only two card makers offering them:
BFG & ASUS (Currently).

They will be in PCI-express 1X/4X & PCI flavors: (Haven't heard anything about PCI-express 16x, although it would be nice with an extra PCI-e slot on an SLI board.

Major Software Dev. companies whom use the "Ageia Physx SDK" and integrate it into their software will support the PPU card. This also includes 3D rendering and design appz, not just games.

Games using the Unreal Engine 3 (Currently to name a few, EPIC, ATARI, Buena Vista Games, NCSoft, Gearbox Software, Hi-Res Studios, 10Tacle Studios, Sony, Vivendi, Namco, MICROSOFT, Midway, Timegate Studios, America's Army...) Just to name a few...

So save your pennies kiddies cause if you don't have a PPU... your gonna get owned...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 12:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

Great. Another silicon chip to spend 500$ on. Wonderful.
__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 12:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

$300 actually.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 01:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

Oh, I can sure afford it now!! *sarcasm* Why do they have to be so much?! Some GPUs are more than processors! Now these Physics cards...ugh. I think I'll go console.


...someone hit me, please.
__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 01:48 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default

wow. this is so stupid, As soon as people get the money saved up to buy a top end pc or components something comes out that some rich kid will buy and smoke what you just spent your savings on. like to say u bought a high end processor, then some kid comes along with a 2800 or 3000+ and gets a physics card and can be equal to or better then your card? wtf.
__________________

Maxx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.