advise on build please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2006, 06:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 81
Question advise on build please

hey im currently thinking of building a fairly high pc and wondering about a couple of things. this the main stuff im planing i will add other things that i already have lying about. also i am fairly tight on the budget side of things.

GeIL 1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 Value Dual Channel Kit CAS2.5

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail

Asus A8N-SLi nForce4 SLi (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard

BFG GeForce 7800 GT OC 256MB GDDR3 VIVO TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express)

Hiper HPU-4K580-MK Type R 580W Modular ATX2.2 PSU - Red UV

Hitachi Deskstar 7K80 NCQ 80GB SATA-II 8MB Cache - OEM

the memory psu and motherboard come in a budle and work out cheaper on www.overclockers.co.uk the only thing im thinking of changing is the motherboard as it is asus and have heard bad things about them. is this worry correct or are they generally quite good.
__________________

detour31 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 06:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

Get 1gb corsair value memory.
amd 3800X2
6800GS instead.(.. Or just get the 7900gt)
__________________

__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 09:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Your current specs for ur new machine sound nice. Wish I could afford a BFG 7800 Graphics card.

Erm yea the thing about the ASUS Motherboard, I bought one recently for my new machine, and the only problem I've had with it is trouble getting RAM that is compatible with it, its nothing to do with differences on the latency on the RAM, its just ASUS arnt very good when it comes to being compatible with other products.
But i darnt complain with a bus speed of 2000MHz. lol
danniboy344 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 154
Default

If I remember correctly corsair works well with asus where as dfi works well with ocz . At any rate the asus board I have in my other rig works like a champ on corsair (even if it is an intel board )
__________________
3700+ sandiego core
chaintech vnf4 ultra
evga 7800gt
2x1 gig corsair xms
antec tpII 550
80 gig hitachi sata2
win xp pro sp2
ibbonkers is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 10:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Get the antec truepower 2 550w unless you like the looks of the type-R.

Get Corsair value ram.
turtile is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 10:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default Nice but lacking

STAY AWAY FROM CORSAIR! the compatability between ur Asus and the Value RAM is almost not even there! I would suggest saving up a lil and getting the OCZ platnum.From Newegg...
Quote:
2GB total now

Pros: Looks good, great price.

Cons: Cant really tell a difference in speed between 1gb and the 2gb that I now have.

Reviewed By: Jump1979man, 2/23/2006 8:08:25 PM
And your processor shoul be considered as well
Quote:
Cons: Not an X2, pins on the processor are easily bent, stock heatsink fan could be a little better. EXTREME Multitasking just barely reveals that this is not a dual core (eg. encoding video, running virus scan and spyware scan, and meanwhile watching a video while perhaps playing a video game will likely slow it down)
If you are going to spend 200 on a pro it should support mild to heavy multitasking! I would suggest the AMD Opteron 148 socket 939 for a mild to tight budget and the Opteron 165 Denmark socket 939 for heavy OCing b/c it is the BEST at it! From http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=94528
Quote:
opteron 165...best OC'n DC under 400. can hit 2.75GHz. get em while there hot. the price is RISING!
it will work with that mobo. it starts at 1.8, but they overclock very well. the overclocks range from 2.5-2.9ghz on air cooling. be it the lowest or highest overclock, it will outperform the 3800+ and it has twice the cache.
Your Vid Card os fine but it WOULD be worth it to upgrade to the 7800 GT
And from what ive heard your HDD is a great value for its size!

Overall i think you did well putting your list together and all but there are a few places where it wouldnt hurt to spend a few more $$. Anyways happy gaming!
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 10:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

Quote:
If I remember correctly corsair works well with asus where as dfi works well with ocz . At any rate the asus board I have in my other rig works like a champ on corsair (even if it is an intel board )
Realy? ive ALWAYS heard stay away from valueselect...
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 04:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by danniboy344
Your current specs for ur new machine sound nice. Wish I could afford a BFG 7800 Graphics card.
yer i can only afford it because im not buying all the components that would be needed for a new pc e.g. no case, no wirless card, no cables. this is because i have them already lying about form other machines that i dont use.
__________________

detour31 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.