Advice on Purchasing Computer - XPS 710 or what Parts - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2007, 04:30 PM   #41 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Advice on Purchasing Computer - XPS 710 or what Parts

no you can always change your heat sink the intel ones are a bit of a pain to change but can be changed
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 05:15 PM   #42 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 37
Default Computer is built. Need help getting it running.

Hello everyone. I have built the computer though all is not well.

After I finished building the computer I turned it on. Blue lights, fans, the DVD, and Hard drive came on except for the graphics card. The computer rang an eerie beep and I quickly shut it down.

I forgot to plug in the graphics card to the power supply so I turned it off, hooked it back up. No more beeping. Again, everything sounds like it is running. All the fans, including the graphics card, are working. The blue lights lining the case are working. The green light on the front of the DVD drive is on and I can hear the whir of the hard drive. Cool.

Also, my computer has no system speaker. Or the case doesn't, I don't know. I'm thinking the beeping before was actually from the graphics card. I checked all of the system panel connector cords and I don't have one plugged into the SPEAKER connector. I looked in the case manual to see if I had one and it didn't mention it.

The monitor is plugged into the DVI spot on the graphics card and the monitor receives no signal. The USB keyboard and mouse are plugged in but aren't powered in that they give off no lights.

I'm not sure what to do or what the problem is.

Here are some things I'm not sure of that I need some clarity on:

I have four DIMM sockets. DIMM A1 and A2 on Channel A while DIMM B1 and B2 are on Channel B. I connected the memory into A1 and B1 (both yellow) since I'm running a duo processor.

There are two 6 (2x3 ) slots and five 5 (1x5) slot on my power supply. Do they all give off the same amount of wattage or should I be plugging things in certain slots (ex: Like the harddrive in slot 1 and the optical drive in slot 4)?

Thanks in advance for helping me out. I'm gonna go mope around until this comp is running properly.
__________________

Ragnos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Some Computer Parts. __Camouflage__ Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 04-19-2007 02:01 AM
Wanting to sell computer parts: andrewsvalesen Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 04-14-2007 01:39 PM
Building Media Computer - Need Advice bigbaddog Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 04-12-2007 11:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.