Advice on a computer.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2007, 07:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 150
Default Advice on a computer..

Hey guys.
I'm planning to buy for $300 off someone on eBay a computer lacking nothing except the keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, and an operating system. Everything I can have, except the OS.

For $300 I get -
1gb RAM
Intel Pentium 4 3.0Ghz processor that supports hyper threading
200 Gb hard drive
CD-RW / DVD combo
With the case, and power supply.

I'm planning to add on my own GeForce and Sound Blaster, but I'm bugged about the OS. I don't want to go and buy windows XP with Vista being out, then after Vista fixes it's bugs and gets a little cheaper, I lost money.
I don't want to buy Vista now either, with it's bugs and price.

Someone told me if I had another hard drive with XP installed on it, I could just set that to master and the hard drive being included in the computer to slave, which I happen to have.
Someone else happened to tell me if I tried to use the hard drive I had previously, blue screens of death would pop all over the place trying to load drivers that it can't find and such.

Someone please provide their advice!
__________________

RisingFalls is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 224
Default

If i were you, i would use your XP hard drive [Without using a slave]
**actually it depends how big the XP HD is**
but assuming its a decent size id forget about the slave

For $300 that seems like a good deal...Good Processor and Ram and the decent hard drive as well

i would just wait untill you are ready to get Vista to use the 200gbHD
__________________

GSM CEO is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 07:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

I wouldn't buy that computer just becuase it has a Pentium 4 in it...I wouldn't buy a computer with a P4 in it. I would at least ave an AMD 3200+ in it.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 07:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

if its lga775 than you could upgrade
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 03:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Theyoyokid303
if its lga775 than you could upgrade
What's that mean?
RisingFalls is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 04:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default

Thats the socket type on the motherboard. Socket 775
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 04:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

yo old just uy xp with the vista upgrde cupon. on a dfferent note i sold my old wb srfin comp to me loser for $900 lol, it had 3ghz p4 ,1gbram, fx5500, 160gb hd, and a pirated windows xp: jk(amI?) so yeah youre getting a good deal, but it would help if that mob had lga775 socket ut then again it problaly couldn't supprt coroe, or ddr2 mem but still a ood deal if youre anaverage gamer
__________________

TheEnd187 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.