Advice in building my gaming rig. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2006, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Default Advice in building my gaming rig.

I've decided it's time for a new PC. My main focus is gaming, but I only have a budget of about $1000. So here's my problem, should I buy the following items? Should I keep shopping around for a better deal? Or should I wait? The soundcard, PSU, case, monitor, NIC, etc are not a problem, I will be reusing the ones I have. So all I really need are these 5 things.

Motherboard.
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813131568

GPU.
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814130034

CPU.
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16819103529

RAM.
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820227121

HD.
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16822136033
__________________

Biomechanical is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 11:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default

Hmm, well just a suggestion.
If your going for a gaming rig i'd recommend buying a hardrive with more space. I have easily used 120GB's already.
__________________

raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 11:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Default

I sacrificed space for disk speed. I really only play about 3 or 4 games at a time, and I uninstall when I'm done when them.

I had planned on using my old HD as a slave for media storage, and simply put my OS and games on this new HD for faster disk access. Would this be a good idea?
Biomechanical is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 12:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Two 160 or 250GB WD Caviar's in RAID 0 would be just as fast, approxamately the same price and have 4 to 7 times as much space.

Nice video card.

I would step down the CPU to the 3700, its cheaper and a simple overclock will easily get you to the 2.4GHz of the 4000. You can get an easy 2.7+ GHz from that. I have one, trust me.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103539

Also, I would recommend getting 2GB of RAM, it will really show in games like BF2. This is what I would suggest.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227210

I believe that will still be in your budget.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 12:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Default

thank you! I took your advice for the RAM and getting the Caviar's for RAID 0.

I'm feeling a bit iffy about the 3700 though. Some reviews have said that it overclocks pretty hot and can lose stability.

any advice?
Biomechanical is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 01:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

The 3700 is the exact same CPU as the 4000 except a tiny bit slower. I own a 3700 and it is perfectly stable, with acceptable temps, at 2.95GHz. I was lucky to get one that gets so high, but most can get into the 2.7-2.8GHz without too much trouble.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 07:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

I couldn't overclock my 3700+ at all and had to do clean installs about three times as a result. I will never overclock anything ever again.
stainer711 is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 07:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

I couldn't overclock my 3700+ at all and had to do clean installs about three times as a result. I will never overclock anything ever again.
__________________

stainer711 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.