advantages in waiting untill vista...? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2006, 04:42 AM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
The Napster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my car
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to The Napster Send a message via MSN to The Napster
Default

good
__________________

__________________
DFI infinity RS 482
3Gig Corsair PC 3200
AMD X2 4400+ 2.4ghz
250Gig Samsung SATA 3.0 7200rpm
250Gig Hatachi SATA 3.0 7200 rpm
60Gig Maxtor ATA 5400 rpm
2x160Gig WD SATA 7200 rpm RAID-0
ATI X850XT 256mb
Antec TruePower 430
The Napster is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 03:29 AM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
i'm guessing 400-600 dollars depending on model...
At launch. But that's only the 1-3 flagship GPU's they'll release. Eventually, there will be mid and low GPUS.
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 04:36 AM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
At launch. But that's only the 1-3 flagship GPU's they'll release. Eventually, there will be mid and low GPUS.
well said. case and point: when the athlon X2 processor was released only the x2 4800+ was available now it ranges from 3600+ upwards.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 03:48 PM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by timblanchard
flight simulator x uses dx10..
Also it can run on DX9.
The first screenshot here is on DX9, and the second is running on DX10




maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 04:33 PM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

mmm DX10, but whether you upgrade your ram and such it wont have an impact on whether you can run DX10 or vista when it comes out, im upgrading mine now and besides after a year after launch when i get vista, ill probally need to upgrade again.
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 04:42 PM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Reminds me off when the physics cards had better graphics but overall gave lower fps and were expensive, not that dx10 isn.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 04:53 PM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
Also it can run on DX9.
The first screenshot here is on DX9, and the second is running on DX10
Dude, you don't really think thats real do you? The water is totally fake, you can see they overlayed a photo of real water over the "DX9" screenshot, check out the reflection irregularities, they are the same in both.

Also, the edges of the water are totally messed up, whoever made that fake screenshot is a total n00b.

That picture is totally fake.
The General is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 04:55 PM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Rofl, I thought it looked odd.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 04:57 PM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Here, I overlayed the "DX10" at 50% opacity on top of the DX9 one, you can see they are the same picture, just photochopped.

The General is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 06:21 PM   #30 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

If that is DX10, it is amazing, but not worth a $500 video card.
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.