add amd 6000 / an9 / 4gb corsair 6400 to my existing system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2007, 07:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 91
Default add amd 6000 / an9 / 4gb corsair 6400 to my existing system

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000 AM2 - £118.59

Abit AN9 32x Socket AM2 - £105.69
2x Corsair PC6400 2GB Kit - so 4GB. £69.33
Total: £362.93

It's been a while since I upgraded my pc as you can see, and the existing rig is in my sig, would these components happily add to my current machine, and two questions:
A) Using dual core etc, is there any noticable difference from using IDE and SATA HDD's atm.
B) Am I wise to wait for dx10.0/1 (whatever) and vista to be widely used, and nice games out and til I upgrade my x850xt, which I am happy with at the moment. Would it be worth the extra £100 for a x1950xt, when should I expect to buy a dx10 card and actually use it, because I know for sure I don't want vista yet.
C) Yes my power supply is 450w, but a strong 450w, that'll do until I upgrade graphics card won't it?

Any suggestions, maybe dropping 2gb ram and getting new graphics etc? Maybe a different mobo? Thanks alot.
__________________

__________________
:freak:
| Intel Core 2 Q6600 / Zalman CNPS7000Bcu CPU LED cooler | XFX GeForce 8800GT Alpha Dog 512MB PCI-E | 2x1024mb Corsair XMS2 6400 | Gigabyte N650SLI DS4 | OCZ GameXstream 850W | Hitachi Deskstar 80gb IDE | WD Caviar 160gb IDE | WD Caviar 250gb SATA | Coolermaster Aerogate 2 |
IGeMex is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 09:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: add amd 6000 / an9 / 4gb corsair 6400 to my existing system

I've heard the Foxconn is a good 590 chipset motherboard:
https://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...roductId=23315

I was going to suggest the EVGA, but it's not available there...but I've heard the Foxconn is very similar to the EVGA.

edit: I found the EVGA 590 SLI, at ebuyer.com:
EVGA nForce 590 SLI Socket AM2 8 channel Audio ATX
I would suggest this one instead.

Using dual core, you won't really notice the difference between IDE and SATA...but I would suggest going with SATA, because the wires are small. So it reduces clutter, unlike those ribbon cables of the IDE. Also it's the current technology for hard drives.

Yes...drop the extra 2gb of RAM. It's not needed, unless you do CAD, video or graphics editing. 2GB is all you need for gaming and general use. I think I'll suggest the G. Skill NQs over the XMS2s:
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 NQ PC2-6400 (2x1GB) CAS5 Dual Channel Kit
or these Crucials, if you have the money:
Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2x1GB) DDR2 PC2-6400C4 800MHz Dual Channel Kit (BL2KIT12864AA804)

You are wise to wait, since theres really nothing out there, utilizing DX10 now. Maybe in a couple of months. The x1950xt is worth the extra, if you have the money...but you said you're happy, with your current x850xt. Maybe you can save that for an upcoming DX10 card.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 11:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: add amd 6000 / an9 / 4gb corsair 6400 to my existing system

go with an AM2+ board they are just an extra $10 and are much more future proof
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 11:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: add amd 6000 / an9 / 4gb corsair 6400 to my existing system

Where are they available? I was checking those sites, but they're not there. I heard they were released already. Well the Biostar at least.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 11:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: add amd 6000 / an9 / 4gb corsair 6400 to my existing system

I know of a site but its in the UK.... AM3 will be coming out 2 years apparently
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 03:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 91
Default Re: add amd 6000 / an9 / 4gb corsair 6400 to my existing system

A site in the uk? I'm in the uk, link please? - and thanks alot for the feedback so far.
__________________
:freak:
| Intel Core 2 Q6600 / Zalman CNPS7000Bcu CPU LED cooler | XFX GeForce 8800GT Alpha Dog 512MB PCI-E | 2x1024mb Corsair XMS2 6400 | Gigabyte N650SLI DS4 | OCZ GameXstream 850W | Hitachi Deskstar 80gb IDE | WD Caviar 160gb IDE | WD Caviar 250gb SATA | Coolermaster Aerogate 2 |
IGeMex is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 04:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: add amd 6000 / an9 / 4gb corsair 6400 to my existing system

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
I know of a site but its in the UK.... AM3 will be coming out 2 years apparently
I am also in UK, which website do you mean? I have tried CCL, ebuyer, SCAN, OCUK, DABS and microdirect but ive had no luck.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 06:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: add amd 6000 / an9 / 4gb corsair 6400 to my existing system

everything looks good. dunno if i would suggest the NQ over the xms2, tho. definitely not over the xms2C4. but i have no experience with the c5 xms2. the gskills are cheaper, and probably perform just as well.
excellent motherboard choice b1g
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 11:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: add amd 6000 / an9 / 4gb corsair 6400 to my existing system

ok pick up a cheaper c2d dont be a fanboy man i kno u like amd so do i but you could really use it grab a cheap but descent mobo liek a 650i chipset and then just get 2 gb of ram then spend the diference between the proc and the ram on a video card
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 11:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: add amd 6000 / an9 / 4gb corsair 6400 to my existing system

A64 x2 6000+ is a pretty power CPU, nothing fan boy about it. use the 570 chipset and 4 gigs of ram and thats pretty much enough for a couple of years.
__________________

darksideleader is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
System randomly auto-reset and auto-off/-on tbytes Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-11-2007 01:10 AM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.