AC5 Leaving on - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2006, 10:28 AM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

My room is like 75 - 80*F.

I have one side 80mm intake fan, one top 80mm exhaust fan, and one rear 120mm exhaust.

AMD Athlon 64 3200+
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:19 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 21
Default

Forgive my ignorance, but why do you need to turn it off at night? And what is AS5?
__________________

cypherotu is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:23 AM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cypherotu
Forgive my ignorance, but why do you need to turn it off at night? And what is AS5?
I suppose you don't have to turn it off at night, but it lets everything cool down and rest so to speak.

AS5 is thermal paste for the CPU/Heatsinc connection, it keeps temps down.
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 04:50 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

You can keep it on or turn it off it doesn't really make a difference. It just needs 150-200 hours to set in (typically a week).
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 05:52 PM   #25 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

lol how would you get a 20C cpu/system in a 24-27C room? If your actually telling the truth, then I'd say your sensors are way off.
Sui is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 06:20 PM   #26 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

mine idles around 29C now, but it also hasn't been cleaned in a year with no filters, it used to idle 25-26C in about 75 degree room. Thats stock 939 3000+ hsf with as5.
Sui is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 06:27 PM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sui
lol how would you get a 20C cpu/system in a 24-27C room? If your actually telling the truth, then I'd say your sensors are way off.
The thermostat right outside my bedroom is always between 75 - 80*F. I suppose I could take a picture of it if you want..

I highly doubt my sensors are off, I can put my hand in the heatsinc and it is very cool to the touch, not even warm.
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 06:43 PM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Well if your temps are always 75-80*C couldn't your thermometer be broken?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 07:04 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

No... when temps drop too far my furnance comes on and warms it back up.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:25 PM   #30 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

You can take any picture you want, the numbers still are not going to add up.... and does that finger come with digital or analog temp reader?..... that last part was a joke.... oooo ooo I got another, how do you keep water from condensing on your motherboard? Ok seriously somethings off, either something is giving you bad temp reading somewhere, or your just completely full of BS.

Reason I said your board was because abits AN8 had reports of temps being low, and where theres one, theres others..... what board do you have? BTW you can't cool past room temp unless you cool with refrigerant, or externally cooled with outside air. It 'feels cool' because it absorbs heat from your hand faster then air does.
__________________

Sui is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.