About to order my first system! need a critique! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2007, 05:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default About to order my first system! need a critique!

Now, Im not going to order this all at once, but over the course of a month or so. I already have a keyboard and mouse and speakers and monitor (a crappy one, but good for now), but what do you guys think about this system. All theses parts should work fine together, correct? And will this system be good for high-end gaming and media?



Case:
COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-WW Black/Silver Aluminum Bezel, SECC Chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Model #: CAC-T05-WW
$49.99


Motherboard:
ASUS P5N32-SLI SE Deluxe LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI x 16 ATX Intel Motherboard
Model #: P5N32-SLI SE Deluxe
$219.99


Graphics:
eVGA 256-P2-N636-AR GeForce 7950GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card
Model #: 256-P2-N636-AR
$214.99


Power Supply:
HIPER HPU-4M480-PS ATX12V v2.2 480W Power Supply
Model #: HPU-4M480-PS
$49.99


Processor:
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 Conroe 1.86GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6300 - Retail
Model #: BX80557E6300
$187.00


Memory:
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWINX2048-3200PRO - Retail
Model #: TWINX2048-3200PRO
$288.00


Hard Drive:
Western Digital Caviar SE WD3200JB 320GB 7200 RPM IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive - OEM
Model #: WD3200JB
$86.99

Thanks
Joe
__________________

King$nake is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 07:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yep, that system looks good for high-end gaming and media.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 07:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

sweet system but if u have a pet avoid that case, the fan sucks air so it collects dust and pet hairs! but overall a nice case, and do u have a cooler? if ur buying of tigerdirect they have a seagate baracuda for 60$ consider saving 20$ with that! but thats me elcheapo!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 02:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default

Well the Case can defianetly be changed. What do you guys recommend for a case?
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default

um... nice system... i might copy yours... can I ask why you didn't go for the c2d e6600? That's the processor I'm planning to get... would seem like the 4mb cache would be better for future apps.
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 03:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default

Because I don't really know what Im talking about. I just started researching stuff last night and these are the conclusions I came too. Should I e6600?
King$nake is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 04:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 144
Default

hey, check your ram its the wrong pin, get DDR2 240 pin ram not DDR1 184 pin, also the case is fine i have one of them and i love it, if you want to have an easier build then spend a little more for a sata drive (its onlly like 5 bucks) and plus it looks nicer
__________________
(>-.-)==>
RepuLse is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 05:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default

dunno how much difference the 4mb cache makes really, but if you want it you could either get the e6600 or wait till the e6320 comes out in a couple months. (e6300 + 4mb cache = e6320)
Jrod is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 06:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

well ... my A+ teacher made a valid point.. l2 cache looks at what you are doing and predicts what you are going to need next. Now 99% of the time its right and speeds up the system but somtimes it can be wrong so it has to flush it all out and then reload it..

so if you have 2mb it loads less but if it messes up it will have to load less... now 4mb it loads double compared to 2mb so if it messes up it will have to reload it and it would take more time..

i say get the 6300 now.... you can upgrade when the time comes... but if you want and have the money now... go ahead get the 6600 but you can oc the 6300 to crazzzyyy speedzzz
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 08:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default

Ok, I updated my list with:

Hard Drive:
SAMSUNG SpinPoint T Series HD321KJ 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

and I changed the Ram to:
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 675 (PC2 5400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-5400c4 - Retail

and I kept the 6300....

Does everything sound good now?
__________________

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.