about to buy more ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2005, 03:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13
Question about to buy more ram

i am about to go buy some more ram but ive got a problem, my computer only supports pc2100, if i bought pc3200 i heard it would downclock itself to what my motherboard can handle, ill give you the crucial online system scanner link below

http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner...sp%3Fcat%3Dram

PLEASE HURRY I LEAVE SOON
__________________

USAWolf is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 04:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13
Default come on guys

this is supposed to be a forum, people post replies so please tell me if the pc3200 will downclock to pc2100
__________________

USAWolf is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 04:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Send a message via AIM to Duplicity
Default

You didn't ask a question in the original post. Anyway, yes it will downclock itself.
__________________
DFI Lanarty Ultra-D
Opteron 165 @ 2.5, 1.325v
1x1GB Mushkin XP4000 @ 250, 3-4-3-8 (another gig on the way)
Sapphire X1900XT @ 700/800 (she\'ll do better, but I need to replace the stock cooler)
WD 1600JB 160GB
Antec SP 500W
Duplicity is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 04:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13
Default

okay thanks dude im in a big hurry, my cousins taking me to best buy in like 10 so yeah, thanks again
USAWolf is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 07:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Send a message via Yahoo to digima$ter
Default

U should buy 2100 instead of buying 3200.
__________________
<a href=\"http://magicsig.com/\" title=\"free glitter signature maker\"><img alt=\"my sig\" src=\"http://my.magicsig.com/ofb5rg8l6e.gif\" /><br />Made with MagicSig.com, a free glitter signature maker</a>
digima$ter is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 09:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by digima$ter
U should buy 2100 instead of buying 3200.
i think it would be best to buy pc3200. just for future upgrades that if u bought a new motherboard that'll support up to pc3200, u won't have to buy a new RAM
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 09:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Send a message via Yahoo to digima$ter
Default

U r in a way true. But yet if u r not updating in a while, in a few years there will be RAM better than 3200 and will just end up with not enough again.
__________________
<a href=\"http://magicsig.com/\" title=\"free glitter signature maker\"><img alt=\"my sig\" src=\"http://my.magicsig.com/ofb5rg8l6e.gif\" /><br />Made with MagicSig.com, a free glitter signature maker</a>
digima$ter is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Older ram is more expensive then newer ram. In some cases PC2100 is more expensive while PC3200 is cheaper

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145024

Corsair valueselect PC2100 512MB

43 dollars

Corsair valueselect PC3200 512MB

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145026

36 dollars

Everything else is the same, PC3200 is cheaper then older PC2100 because they dont make PC2100 anymore, or its just harder to find, etc.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 01:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Send a message via Yahoo to digima$ter
Default

Sometimes, but rarely.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://magicsig.com/\" title=\"free glitter signature maker\"><img alt=\"my sig\" src=\"http://my.magicsig.com/ofb5rg8l6e.gif\" /><br />Made with MagicSig.com, a free glitter signature maker</a>
digima$ter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.