9800 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2007, 12:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: 9800

lol @ nvidia for releasing new card series every year. ATI FTW :P
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 12:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: 9800

Quote:
Originally Posted by N1gh7 View Post
.....send the 8800 gtx in for a better 9800 card within 90 days of buying it?
yeah, but you pay the difference

and through EVGA you pay the MSRP not the newegg or tigerdirect price....so if you stepup be prepared to pay twice the difference.

i was going to send in my GTX for an Ultra. i paid $516 for the GTX and the Ultra is $609 through newegg, but EVGA wants $699 for the Ultra if i stepped up, i'd be paying an even more extra $90 through them.
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 04:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: 9800

im still waiting for more news on the R700 n 9800, because i might want to get the 9800 instead of waiting for the R700, which i shouldnt because ATI is part of AMD n we cant have SLI with an AMD CPU now can we?

at least i havent seen any at all since AMD bought ATI, u guys get my point?

what is the point of getting the 9800 with a sok AM2 or AM2+ mobo when it doesnt support SLI n only Crossfire? I rest my case.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 04:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 9800

First of all, forget SLI.

SLI does work with an AMD CPU.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 04:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 9800

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
im still waiting for more news on the R700 n 9800, because i might want to get the 9800 instead of waiting for the R700, which i shouldnt because ATI is part of AMD n we cant have SLI with an AMD CPU now can we?

at least i havent seen any at all since AMD bought ATI, u guys get my point?

what is the point of getting the 9800 with a sok AM2 or AM2+ mobo when it doesnt support SLI n only Crossfire? I rest my case.
u can get SLi with a AMD...

nagasama has dual 7900gs' with an x2 3600+

EDIT dang-flabbit, u beat me again, but i got an example
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 9800

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside
we cant have SLI with an AMD CPU now can we?
It does with a lot of the Nforce chipsets (for example, the C51XEM2AA board with has an Nforce 590 SLI chip)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: 9800

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
First of all, forget SLI.

SLI does work with an AMD CPU.
I was hoping on running SLI with my system lol.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 9800

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadpixel View Post
I was hoping on running SLI with my system lol.
You could, under the following stipulations:

-You're SLIing the most high end cards.
-You have a 24-30" monitor.
-You grow money on trees.
-Or you just got a darn good deal on a second graphic card.

Otherwise, forget about it.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:31 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: 9800

so even though AMD bought ATI, they're still letting Nvidia make chipsets for them?
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: 9800

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
You could, under the following stipulations:

-You're SLIing the most high end cards.
-You have a 24-30" monitor.
-You grow money on trees.
-Or you just got a darn good deal on a second graphic card.

Otherwise, forget about it.
Was going to SLI GTS

19" widescreen

Money is short these days

I want a darn good deal on second video card.
__________________

Deadpixel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia GeForce 9800 series specs released b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 109 11-24-2007 06:43 AM
just installed Radeon 9800 ... new drivers and catylst will not run :( illnastyimpreza Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 07-27-2007 10:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.