97 degrees C? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2006, 09:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default 97 degrees C?

Hi Guys,

My aux temp is reading 97 degrees C, and I assume that this is an error, could someone explain where the aux is read from?

Thanks,

Charlie -

PS:

__________________

Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

yeah i doubt thats true......check the temp in the bios.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 10:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

Its a case fan, probably on the front or rear of your case. Depending on the model the temp sensor might not actually be ON the fan, but on the board where the fan plugs in, or on a wire connected to the fan.

Either way, your temps are HOT. Im OC'd at ~46C for my CPU..
you might want to do some cooling upgrades
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 10:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Im presuming that is reading the GPU RAM but I really don't know. I have a multimeter with a temp line and, if it were me, iI'd testing the video RAM temp.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 11:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

I don;t know why my cooling is so bad, I've put the vcore down from 1.3V. If I run my processor stock everything it idles at 51+ degrees.

PS, the huge temp has gone.... anyway, I'm considering getting a new heatpipe amd stock cooler, and some as5, and doing that basically.

Charlie -
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 11:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Woot!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 11:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

that'll work... what kind of case do you have... you might want to also do some wire management for better air flow. and if your case can handle them, maybe add a couple of fans...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 12:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

I'm using a tsunami dream, this is my cable management:



So I don't think airflow is the problem, do you think my heatsink isn't fitted perfectly or something?

Charlie -
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 01:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Do you have any thermal grease applied?

BTW don't use everest to monitor temps...it sucks ***
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 01:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

I thought it was good. Anyway, I just have the standard thermal pad/grease on this...!? Should I take off the heatsink and put on some AS5 or something?

Charlie -
__________________

Chazzer3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.