960 vs 1150 ddr2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2007, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default 960 vs 1150 ddr2

whats better,

960mhz 4-4-4-12 ddr2 ram

-or-

1150mhz 5-5-5-15 ddr2 ram?
__________________

__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 08:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 960 vs 1150 ddr2

1150mhz... definitely... but i think u can get better timings at 1150mhz with those magicstix
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 08:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 960 vs 1150 ddr2

Probably not. Mine wasn't stable with CAS4 timings, when I had the speed at 1200.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 01:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: 960 vs 1150 ddr2

Mine wont boot or get a blue screen if i go 4-4-4-12 at 1000MHz, I can go to 5-5-5-12 timing though but dont want to mess my ram up cuz 3 different cycles at 5ns each is 15ns so better keep it at 5-5-5-15 than 5-5-5-12.

But my RAM is running at PC2-5300 at bios post message at 1000MHz but if i go up to 1200MHz 5-5-5-15 timing, it shows PC2-6400 but windows wont load, i get a blue screen.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 12:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: 960 vs 1150 ddr2

ok, so my system is at the specs in my sig, but then i upped the ram speed to 1050mhz and it wont load. the system will turn on, but no display and it will sometimes shut itself down in a few seconds. I've tried taking out the CMOS battery and putting it back in, turn off my power supply, running on 1 stick of ram, switching slots, none of which have worked. any suggestions?
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 12:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: 960 vs 1150 ddr2

you eased up the timings yet?
darksideleader is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 02:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: 960 vs 1150 ddr2

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
1150mhz... definitely... but i think u can get better timings at 1150mhz with those magicstix
I would think he would see increased performance with the tighter timings from the 960. the ram speed isn't your bottle neck even at 800. I suggest running 1:1 or close to and get the tightest timings you can. I've seen tests on Hardforum (which I can't find now, but I will look), that show tighter timings vs faster speed and the timings come out a little ahead. It will also produce less heat and increase the ram's life span. Overall the difference will be minimal.
__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 10:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: 960 vs 1150 ddr2

^^agreed^^
tighter timings/lower speed are easier on your ram. you will notice a difference between tight/low vs loose/high on benchmarks like super pi and 3dm06. but not a very big difference. it is there, though.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 02:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: 960 vs 1150 ddr2

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
^^agreed^^
tighter timings/lower speed are easier on your ram. you will notice a difference between tight/low vs loose/high on benchmarks like super pi and 3dm06. but not a very big difference. it is there, though.
loose/high is higher score for intel
and tight/low is higher score for AMD?
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 02:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: 960 vs 1150 ddr2

Your ram runs in sync with your FSB so if you FSB is not at 575, running your ram at 1150 will not make a difference as your FSB will be the bottleneck. Clock your ram according to what CPU your buying. Typically if you have a lower multiplier on your CPU you will want better ram (asuming overclock). With High multi CPUs you probably wont need fast ram as you wont be able to raise your FSB very high.
__________________

__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
does any 200pin ddr2... fastrandstrongr New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-03-2007 11:47 AM
FS: 2 Kits of DDR2 Memory aspire Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 8 07-11-2007 09:01 PM
R.A.M. swap time, ddr to ddr2, safe idea? drewjustforyou Laptops and Notebooks 10 07-01-2007 06:12 AM
DDR and DDR2 Nick New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-30-2007 01:12 PM
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-27-2007 10:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.