$900 Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2006, 01:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn

If you don't need this immediately, you might want to consider revising your motherboard, CPU, and memory for Conroe when it comes out in July. They'll have a dual core CPU that can go head-to-head with a 4400+ for not much more than the price of the CPU you want now.
EDIT: That setup is just fine for those games, though. You'll be in good shape. Also, if you want to future-proof a bit, you could consider an AM2 motherboard and the AM2 version of 3500+. (AMD's new architecutre, K8L, will use AM2.)

Orayn is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 01:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to MAD LARKIN

I know, but its for a friend and he's just not smart enough to wait.
MAD LARKIN is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
hmammen's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen

mobo- good

case- could be better, go with this-http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811119077

PSU- good for now

CPU- good choice

GPU- great choice

RAM- good, but not for overclocking, i assume u wont OC it

hard drive- good, personal preference

optical- sony is fine

even if you dont decide to to upgrade to AM2 or conroe, S939 has tons of upgrades and you can upgrade your whole setup later on.

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 01:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn

Well, in that case, I'd modify the build for AM2. Wouldn't add too much. Maybe $50 or so. However, you'd have to change the memory to DDR2, but it's about the same price as DDR. Last comment: You can get a better power supply from Asus for that same price. I'll link in an edit.
EDIT: For optical drives, Samsung is good. Very dependable. Get one of those and save some money.
PSU: Here.
Orayn is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 03:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss

psu FSP $50Watt only $50 powers my system right now with no problems

mobo get a MSI Neo-f

reckliss is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.