8950 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2007, 02:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default 8950

Quote:
The Geforce 8950 GX2 is a dual-chip card based on a new 80 nanometre G80 chip, probably codenamed something else. Both GX2 GPUs are clocked at 550MHz and the difference is GDDR4. The card comes with 2x512MB of 256-bit GDDR4 memory clocked at 2000MHz
So, this means in total the 8950 has 1024MB of RAM (512 per chip). 256 GDDR4 meaning you times 256x4 to get 1024 if i get stand corrected?
__________________

raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 02:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: 8950

I so can't wait!
__________________

augest is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 02:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: 8950

where did you get this information?
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 02:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default Re: 8950

Actually I guess the 8950's are coming with 320x2/core so in total 1280.. That info was on the nvidia forum.
raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 02:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: 8950

i didnt think nvidia were bring out any more 8 series cards
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 02:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: 8950

thats wat i thought to . theres no way they can bring out another card between now and the 9800gtx which is due this xmas is there?
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 02:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: 8950

i see well thats crazy, im still waiting for the 9 series though, i dont need that kind of card yet.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 03:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: 8950

the 9series is goin to be sick performance
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 03:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: 8950

Quote:
Originally Posted by raiden_nrl View Post
So, this means in total the 8950 has 1024MB of RAM (512 per chip). 256 GDDR4 meaning you times 256x4 to get 1024 if i get stand corrected?
You just do 2x512mb since the gx2 is basically 2 cards stuck together. Gddr4 is basically just a faster form of ram. You don't multiply the amount of ram but you do multiply the speed of the ram. IIRC Its like how a c2d uses 1066fsb but your ram really only runs at 266. But you do 266 x 2 because its ddr so you get 533 (rounds up since its not exactly 266). then you do 533 x 2 because its ddr2 so you get 1066.
gddr and ddr are different though.

GDDR4 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 03:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 8950

Why make such a card when G92 is already coming out soon?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.