8800Gtx - Crysis? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2007, 03:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Default 8800Gtx - Crysis?

Well, you can clearly tell that my 8800Gtx obsession is not going to run away that fast. But seriously: will the 8800Gtx be able to handle Crysis at a great speed and with beautiful visions? Some people have been saying that Crysis will "kick" the 8800Gtx's ***. So, what do you guys say? Will the 8800Gtx handle Crysis like it does with the current games?

P.S. I also have E6600 with my 8800; I will add my system's rig to my sig later on. Rig. Sig. Rigsig.
:amazed:
__________________

the:megalon is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 03:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

It depends, we have not seen how the 8 series will actually do in DX10. Until we get actual benchmarks from an actual DX10 game (which won't be for a while) then no one can say for sure. I think it should be able to play it pretty well at a lower res.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 03:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

yes, we have already seen it handle Crysis at max settings from recent GDC videos. Also keep in mind that the game is not even optimized yet, so you should have great perfromance in Crysis...Don't worry.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 03:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Default

Yeah, my 19" monitor is a pretty low res. But I'm thinking of going to a widescreen; my options: 1600x1200 and 1900x1200, will Crysis eat that up?
the:megalon is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 03:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Exactly we have seen crysis but DX10 hasn't been optimized completely with it yet so it's not 100% certain.

1440x900 which is 19 wise will destroy it most likley while 1600x1200 should run great...1900 may be cutting it. it's hard to say
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 03:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

I would think that you would be capable of playing Crysis on at least medium graphics settings.
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 03:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

You can play it on max DX10 so don't worry. Crytek only has one card to optimize their DX10 version of the game and that's your card, so if you can't max it out with great performance on that thing then there is a bog problem.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 05:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

i think a E6600 processor or above with 2 gigs of ram and a 8800GTX will play it at max settings on a 19", i think anything above 19" will slow the game down abit.
Im not 100% sure(obviously) but thats just what i reckon
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 06:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

I found this info here, not sure on how reliable it is though
http://www.crysis-online.com/Informa...0Requirements/

It says that a single 7800GTX will play Crysis at high settings
maroon1 is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 06:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default

the 8800gtx will destroy crysis there using one in there rig and they are getting amazing fps it isnt a game based on hdr to look good its based on good textures wich render easily
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.