8800gts G92 SLI power question - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2008, 01:49 AM   #31 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: 8800gts G92 SLI power question

so the question is now,

5000+ BE overclock to 3.2Ghz for $88
or
6400+ at 3.2Ghz for $163
__________________

__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 01:57 AM   #32 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 8800gts G92 SLI power question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BonKerz View Post
so the question is now,

5000+ BE overclock to 3.2Ghz for $88
or
6400+ at 3.2Ghz for $163
the 6400+ and the 6000+ have 2x1MB L2 cache, instead of 2x512kb... but the 5000+ BE is more cost effective
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 02:02 AM   #33 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: 8800gts G92 SLI power question

Would I still get some close performance with a 5000+ BE overclocked to 3.2Ghz? Also, If i get the 5000+ BE I'm planning on getting another gig or 2 of ram since it would be cheaper.

What are the rules of thumb with memory? Right now I have 2 slots filled with corsair XMS2 1gs. Should i get another 1g XMS2 or 2 512's. I'm pretty sure there is 4 slots on my board... lol
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 02:12 AM   #34 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 8800gts G92 SLI power question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BonKerz View Post
Would I still get some close performance with a 5000+ BE overclocked to 3.2Ghz? Also, If i get the 5000+ BE I'm planning on getting another gig or 2 of ram since it would be cheaper.
There might be a few areas where more cache can help (mainly things like video encoding, maybe winRAR), but mostly you won't notice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BonKerz View Post
What are the rules of thumb with memory? Right now I have 2 slots filled with corsair XMS2 1gs. Should i get another 1g XMS2 or 2 512's. I'm pretty sure there is 4 slots on my board... lol
get sticks in pairs
run with either 2 sticks, or 4 sticks

and stick with the same capacity for all modules
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 02:22 AM   #35 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: 8800gts G92 SLI power question

oh okay thank you. So do you think I should go with the 5000+ BE and OC it to 3.2ghz. Basically the same performance for half the price.
Would I see performance increase worth the money from what i currently have?
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 02:41 AM   #36 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 8800gts G92 SLI power question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BonKerz View Post
oh okay thank you. So do you think I should go with the 5000+ BE and OC it to 3.2ghz. Basically the same performance for half the price.
Would I see performance increase worth the money from what i currently have?
games that are more CPU bound should have a significant increase
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 02:43 AM   #37 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: 8800gts G92 SLI power question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
There might be a few areas where more cache can help (mainly things like video encoding, maybe winRAR), but mostly you won't notice.

get sticks in pairs
run with either 2 sticks, or 4 sticks

and stick with the same capacity for all modules
mine is set as so:

i agree with u but also, my CPU maybe holding back the rest of my GPU's performance. When i went from 3.0GHz to 3.33GHz, i got a huge jump in overall performance n a chunk of performance in gaming, like 10 fps more.

FSB: 215
Multiplier: 15.5
Vcore: 1.39-1.40
RAM: 860 4-4-4-12-24 2T

= 3.332GHz!!

Temps are in sig because it ranges according to my LED panel in my case, has temp sensors.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 02:46 AM   #38 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: 8800gts G92 SLI power question

oh nice, well i just ordered that 5000+ BE (which I'm going to OC to 3.2ghz) and another gig of ram. So I will have 3 gigs.

I'll be making a jump from 2.7 to 3.2ghz


Now how should I go about overclocking the thing to 3.2Ghz??
Are there any programs, or do I do it somewhere in the BIOS
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 01:19 PM   #39 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: 8800gts G92 SLI power question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
mine is set as so:

i agree with u but also, my CPU maybe holding back the rest of my GPU's performance. When i went from 3.0GHz to 3.33GHz, i got a huge jump in overall performance n a chunk of performance in gaming, like 10 fps more.

FSB: 215
Multiplier: 15.5
Vcore: 1.39-1.40
RAM: 860 4-4-4-12-24 2T

= 3.332GHz!!

Temps are in sig because it ranges according to my LED panel in my case, has temp sensors.
i will like to know what is the highest u have ever gone with that cpu cz interested in getting a cheap unlocked multiplier cpu
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 11:31 PM   #40 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: 8800gts G92 SLI power question

i've booted mine at 3.45ghz
...for a minute, lol.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I want a new video card. Silverfury New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-09-2008 01:05 AM
8800GTS (g92) + dual monitors KNiGHTMaRe89 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 02-26-2008 07:48 PM
Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question) Deady New Systems | Building and Buying 44 08-16-2007 08:50 AM
power supply question raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-24-2007 10:24 AM
Power Question cheezhead18 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 05-13-2007 12:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.