8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2007, 02:34 PM   #21 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

yea because no one is going to buy the current 640mb over the GT
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 09:16 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raze664 View Post
Thats strange, I run Oblivion on Max, on 1280x1024 with a 320mb, I get no lag at all. Plus the fact that your spec in your sig is far better than mine. :freak:
Hrmm.. has always slightly worried me, I always assumed that the reason was that Oblivion is a beast. Apparently not. Do you use 8xAA & bloom?

Any ideas where the bottleneck might be? Any way of monitoring useage of various resources such as CPU, RAM, GPU, HD during play?
__________________

Andyf is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 10:06 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

im hoping EVGA uses all of their 96SP 8800GTS so once mine kicks the bucket, im gonna RMA and get a 112SP 65nm one...*crosses fingers*

but they probably won't give me a superclocked one since my receipt shows a regular 8800GTS...
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 11:45 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

Save your $320.00 and get something you will enjoy. Like a longboard. Best purchase I have ever made in my life. I barely use my computer now hehe

I just go outside and go longboarding. Purchased the Never Summer Swift three days ago and Im about to purchase a new board. Loaded Dervish

Check this out...



But ye hehe.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 12:07 AM   #25 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

Little trouble with the longboard idea, pinoy... I live in South Dakota =P.

xD
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 12:22 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

Ya its hard to surf on snow...oh wait
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 01:14 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
What's the revised GTS going to be like? Is it just going to be a "newer" version of the 640MB? Any word on a release date for it by chance?

And I can play Oblivion at 1280x1024 with my 320mb with no lag at all either =\. And that was before I OC'd, too.
When you say 'no lag', what do you mean. If you go to a very slow area (say, the farm and grassy hills just north east of Anvil), all settings maxxed, what kind of framerate do you get?
Andyf is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 04:18 PM   #28 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

I haven't played it for a while...but I'll check tonight when I get home from work.

I don't get any lag or slowness with multiple enemies on screen either tho (like one time I ****ed a whole village off just for fun and they were all either shooting arrows at me, running after me/swinging swords, or casting spells). Didn't have any slowness that I could notice anyway.

Quote:
Ya its hard to surf on snow...oh wait
It is when its flat xD. Fun when you're getting dragged by a 4wheeler tho lol.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 04:42 PM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

All of the snow we got already melted off Need more snow, i wanna get up to the mountains, but im not making the trip up for 1 lift and 1 run.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 07:17 PM   #30 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

I hate snow, ever since I've had to shovel it xD. And we've had..I think 3 blizzards within the last 3 years >.<... Hate it when I have to shovel the snow out from around my car in order to get out for school/work...
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
430 watts for a 8800GTS 320mb Marrk New Technology and Products 13 10-01-2007 12:08 PM
New 8800GTS 320MB HELPMEPLZ New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-28-2007 11:03 AM
Fatal1ty XFX 8800GTS 320MB HELPMEPLZ New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-27-2007 11:00 AM
Free copy of Dawn of War with the purchase of an gigabyte 8800gts 320mb veg1992 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 06-17-2007 09:09 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.