8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2007, 11:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

Well, I got an EVGA 8800GTS 320MB, and I have 46 days left for step-up. I heard these cards were going to be phased out soon (anybody know when?). But, I heard that if I have to get a 320MB replaced, they might have to send me a 640mb instead? Anybody know if this is true or not either? If it is true, the corner of the PC board on the card is bent...so I could probably RMA it and get a new one (because it shipped like this, but it's been running fine since I installed it), but instead of a 320mb get a 640mb? Either that, or I was considering stepping up to either the 640mb or the 8800GT when it releases with EVGA.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 10-26-2007, 12:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

Your best bet would be to take advantage of evgas step up. At least then you can be sure what youre getting. It's your call. I'd get the best card out there if I had the same situation.
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 12:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

Hmm, I looked at EVGA's prices, and I could Step-Up to an 8800GTX for (roughly) $320...which is only $40 more than I paid for my 8800GTS 320mb... may consider going w/ the GTX instead then.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 10-26-2007, 12:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

i'd keep it. it will run every game on the market right now.
mgcook is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 03:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

I'd say the same, but Oblivion is still jerky at max settings. I might consider stepping up....
Andyf is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 04:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

If you have the funds step up to a GTX! Loads better than the 320mb
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 07:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

ya... for $40 you can upgrade to an 8800gtx? go for it!!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 08:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

I wish it were $40 lol. I said it'd roughly be $320, which is only $40 more than I originally paid for my GTS.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 10-26-2007, 10:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

Ebay the card for 200-250ish and pick up the gtx that newegg has on sale for 450 or the ultra that microcenter has on sale for 559. Or hold on to it for a few more months until it actually gives you problems and buy a top end. If you use step up you will end up paying probably 50-100 bucks more than you would if you just sold the card and bought something better online.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 11:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: 8800GTS 320MB... Should I replace it?

wait a few weeks, till the 8800gt has been out a while, and they release the new gts, then get it replaced, as you have a life tiem warranty.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
430 watts for a 8800GTS 320mb Marrk New Technology and Products 13 10-01-2007 12:08 PM
New 8800GTS 320MB HELPMEPLZ New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-28-2007 11:03 AM
Fatal1ty XFX 8800GTS 320MB HELPMEPLZ New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-27-2007 11:00 AM
Free copy of Dawn of War with the purchase of an gigabyte 8800gts 320mb veg1992 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 06-17-2007 09:09 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.