8800gts 320 or 640mb?? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2007, 09:19 AM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

320 over 640 agreed but i dont think ull be playin crysis on ultra, u will but on bout 10-15 fps.

i hope i get bout 30-40 on full settings woth my set up
__________________

__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 09:40 AM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

Quote:
Originally Posted by kobe24 View Post
320 over 640 agreed but i dont think ull be playin crysis on ultra, u will but on bout 10-15 fps.

i hope i get bout 30-40 on full settings woth my set up
meh i would expect 30-40 on ur setup, but my new setup will get atleast 70 i hope
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 10:19 AM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

pshh i expect at least 30 for as much money as this cost

I would be soo mad if i dont play this game on full

I dont have any more money to upgrade
alexsabree is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 11:58 AM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

I just picked up a 320MB 8800GTS myself and I am VERY pleased with it.


Lost Planet with almost everything on high at 1280x720 under Vista is a very nice thing. That's with 1.5gigs of memory and a 3800+ X2 socket 939.

Also, with a 6600C2D, 2 gigs of some good memory, and a good P35 mobo, you should be good to go for Crysis on high settings.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 02:05 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post
Also, with a 6600C2D, 2 gigs of some good memory, and a good P35 mobo, you should be good to go for Crysis on high settings.
you wont see high settings with Crysis on a 320MB GTS. A GTX will still be getting a strong workout with that game.
mgcook is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 02:31 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 46
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

Ok so what about running 1680x1050 res with the 320 card?
__________________
CPU: Q6600 @ 3.5/Thermalright 120 Extreme
MOBO: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
RAM: 2G Corsair 800 DDR2 XMS2
GPU: EVGA 7950 GT KO
PSU: Corsair HX520
Case: Lian Li PC-A05B modded
Ice8168 is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 02:32 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

its fine....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 02:12 AM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

But why would both amd and nvidia put so much memory on there cards if it will never be used?
Im predicting that games will harness this amount of memory in the not to distant future...

Because it all boils down to who has the most fps in the end, and unnecessary parts in their product just makes them less money.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 02:16 AM   #29 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

320MB should work fine to run your games at high fps. Overclock the card and it'll get closer to the 640.
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 02:24 AM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xXDuskXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 220
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

320mb...then buy a uber1337 9800 GTX!!!!!
__________________

__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v401/Degeta/ra.jpg

the blood drive is a pyramid scheme perpetrated by dracula and his night slaves
xXDuskXx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800GTS temps??? mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 4 07-12-2007 01:30 AM
Dual 8800GTS (640MB) in SLI? tlharrell New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-26-2007 08:50 AM
8800GTS Issue... Phantom118 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 12:14 PM
Any brand of 8800GTS better? Shafra New Systems | Building and Buying 11 04-04-2007 03:33 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.