8800gts 320 or 640mb?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2007, 11:40 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

i think the cheapest 320mb will do, i think its 260$ i'm having newegg access issues right now...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 11:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

here ya go:

Newegg.com - EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 11:54 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

Alright, will do.

Thanks for all the help
alexsabree is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 12:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

If crysis comes out on time, and your friend isn't satisfied, he can always use the step up program to go for the 640 or the gtx, especially if their prices drop you get a good deal. Just make sure he registers his card w/ evga online.
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 12:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

hes expecting close to full settings on crysis because at E3 they said the 8800gts was able to play the game on Ultra (but im not aware if that was the 640mb or 320mb version)

ahh for $100 less its a good deal anywho.

Good thing i know im playing full settings:
8800gtx
e6600
2gb ram
alexsabree is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 02:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

320mb. The 640mb isn't much of a difference.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 02:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

Quote:
Originally Posted by san21893 View Post
If crysis comes out on time, and your friend isn't satisfied, he can always use the step up program to go for the 640 or the gtx, especially if their prices drop you get a good deal. Just make sure he registers his card w/ evga online.
or he could just add another card and run it in SLi
mgcook is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 03:01 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

Except SLI is a waste of money
__________________
CPU: e6320 W/ Zalman CNPS9700 @ 2.8
MOBO: MSI P6N PLATINUM
RAM: 2gigs G. Skill HZs
VID: EVGA 8800 GTS 640mb @ 625/1025
CASE: NZXT ZERO
HD: WD1600YS
PS: CORSAIR 520HX
MONITOR: CHIMEI 22in
OS: VISTA HOME PREMIUM 32bit
nerdygeek is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 03:44 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

ur not actually expecting to play crysis at full settings with that setup right?? u could go for medium high, but full settings seem a bit high expectations...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 04:27 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

I am, but im not expecting my friend to.

The recommended system setup is:

"CPU: Dual-core CPU (Athlon X2/Pentium D)
Graphics: Nvidia 7800GTX/ATI X1800XT (SM 3.0) or DX10 equivalent
RAM: 1.5GB
HDD: 6GB
Internet: 512k+ (128k+ upstream)
Optical Drive: DVD
Software: DX10 with Windows Vista"

I also heard that crysis was running on full settings (Ultra) at the E3 demo using a gtx
(edit) I could be wrong, but i dont mind having low fps as long as it stays somewhere above 20-25
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800GTS temps??? mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 4 07-12-2007 01:30 AM
Dual 8800GTS (640MB) in SLI? tlharrell New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-26-2007 08:50 AM
8800GTS Issue... Phantom118 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 12:14 PM
Any brand of 8800GTS better? Shafra New Systems | Building and Buying 11 04-04-2007 03:33 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.