8800gts 320 or 640mb?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2007, 04:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

Well i have a buddy who wants to build a pc to play some of the new dx10 games out there. Im building the pc for him and so far ive got everything figured out except for the graphics card he will be using.

I am definitly getting a card in the 8800 series, but im confused as to if I should order the 8800gts 320mb version or the 640mb version...

We are kinda on a flexible but, tight budget.. around $1000-$1300 and im wondering if its really worth it for double the memory, because we could use the $100 on a better cpu or something.

After doing some research i found that the extra memory helps with people with high resolution screens.. he is using 1440x900 resolution.

Thanks in advance,
Alexsabree
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 04:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

You will notice little difference at that resolution on current games, but no one really knows knows with future games. But I would suggest 320 for that res. But make sure you get a DS3R to OC well.
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6320 W/ Zalman CNPS9700 @ 2.8
MOBO: MSI P6N PLATINUM
RAM: 2gigs G. Skill HZs
VID: EVGA 8800 GTS 640mb @ 625/1025
CASE: NZXT ZERO
HD: WD1600YS
PS: CORSAIR 520HX
MONITOR: CHIMEI 22in
OS: VISTA HOME PREMIUM 32bit
nerdygeek is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 04:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsabree View Post
Well i have a buddy who wants to build a pc to play some of the new dx10 games out there. Im building the pc for him and so far ive got everything figured out except for the graphics card he will be using.

I am definitly getting a card in the 8800 series, but im confused as to if I should order the 8800gts 320mb version or the 640mb version...

We are kinda on a flexible but, tight budget.. around $1000-$1300 and im wondering if its really worth it for double the memory, because we could use the $100 on a better cpu or something.

After doing some research i found that the extra memory helps with people with high resolution screens.. he is using 1440x900 resolution.

Thanks in advance,
Alexsabree

with 1440x900 resolution I say you should defiantely just go for the 320mb version. Tests even show the 320mb and 640 version are really close at even higher resolutions...so yeah go for the 320mb version theres a evga version for like 279.99, cheap as heck...almost half the price I paid for my gtx...
Gabb is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 05:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

Im still confused, i mean what do you benefit from having more memory on you gpu?

Keep in mind he does want to be able to play crysis and such on somewhat high settings.

I like to know everything about what im buying
Especially for my friends first computer

(edit) What about the new ds4, is it a good buy?
alexsabree is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 08:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

the 640 mb only has a 1-3 percent performance increase in that particular res.
and its $100 more expensive
dont know much about the ds4
:edit: K i looked it up and it seems to be the 650i sLI
go with the p35-ds3
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 09:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

ya def gofor the 320mb, even at higher resolution settings, the 640mb will only get a few fps better, not even close to noticeable or even worth the extra $100.
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 09:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

But what about future games??

We really dont care about how this card performs on the current gen games, cause we expect to have good fps, he wants a computer that will last.

Why else would nvidia and AMD (ati) add soo much more memory on the latest chips?

Im guessing that the amount of memory (on a gpu) used by games will increase rapidly because of what the newer cards are capable of.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 09:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

When the 640 and 320 hit resolutions where the 640 makes an impact, gaming at that certain resolution would probably be pretty crappy, especially for future games
__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 09:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

if your going to spend $400 the 2900xt is a better bargain
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 11:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 8800gts 320 or 640mb??

Get this.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800GTS temps??? mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 4 07-12-2007 01:30 AM
Dual 8800GTS (640MB) in SLI? tlharrell New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-26-2007 08:50 AM
8800GTS Issue... Phantom118 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 12:14 PM
Any brand of 8800GTS better? Shafra New Systems | Building and Buying 11 04-04-2007 03:33 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.