8800gt 640 or 320mb? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2007, 10:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 260
Default 8800gt 640 or 320mb?

is it worth a 100 bucks more for the 8800gt 640mb or is the 8800gt320 pretty much almost same performance?
__________________

Coke27 is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 10:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

depending on the resolution you play at... if your gonna be stuck with 1280x1024, i'd go with the 320 mb... otherwise, if your playing big (1680x1050 and higher) i would go for the 640mb
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 10:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

probably not right now, it would be in 3 years becuase more memory will help more. By that time you'll want a new card though it'll be time for a new one!
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 10:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 260
Default

well i am soon with my new build so just wondering go with 320 or 640
__________________
Dell Dimension 8400
P 4 630 with HT 3GHZ
Windows Home Edition
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 400MHZ
160GB ATA 7200RPM HD
XFX 7900GT 256-Bit
Sound Blaster 24 bit Advanced HD
Coke27 is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 10:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

like he said. If your monitor is bigger than maybe 20.1 inch or so then the 640 might just be worth it. Even still though maybe not.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 09:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

get the 320mb one.....and thats only if you HAVE to have a dx10 card right now.......otherwise you would be wasting money on a 640mb or 768mb(GTX) one because newer cards will be out soon.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 02:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

the 320 out performs the 640. Go with the 320.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 03:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BennyV04988
the 320 out performs the 640. Go with the 320.
Not true

At resolution of 1600x1200 and above, the 640MB outperforms the 320MB.
maroon1 is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 05:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

The 320MB version performs better at moderate resolutions (like 1280x1024) because it has higher clocks, but it falls short at the highest resolutions and some texture demanding games.

I have doubts whether the 320MB version is dx10 proof. Sure it has the technology to play dx10 games, but I think it will perform much worse at games like Crysis than the 640MB version.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 06:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

The 320mb starts to have bad performance when your above 1600*1200 with 4xAA and up, that's really the only time it starts to have trouble.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.