8800 ultra power - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2007, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Default 8800 ultra power

hey every one i have a 8800 ultra and it says on the box that the minimum sytem reguirements require 35 amps on the 12 volt rail. but my psu the ocz gamextreamonly puts out a max of 20 amps on the 12 volt rail is this ok.
__________________

osborne3 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 05:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 8800 ultra power

That is NOT ok.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 05:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: 8800 ultra power

What model of the OCZ GameXStream do you have? The Ultra needs 2 PCIe 6 pin power connector.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 06:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 8800 ultra power

That can't be right, you probably have 2 rails with 20a each. Check again.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 06:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 8800 ultra power

I'm going to guess he has the 600W version, and it has a combined 72A, on it's four +12v rails. And it does have 2 x PCIe power cables.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 06:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: 8800 ultra power

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I'm going to guess he has the 600W version, and it has a combined 72A, on it's four +12v rails. And it does have 2 x PCIe power cables.
So that's a good PSU for the 8800 Ultra then. I guess he was just wondering if the Ultra will only be using 1 +12V rail.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 06:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Default Re: 8800 ultra power

850 watt version i think i read it wrong im a newbie
osborne3 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 06:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 8800 ultra power

Quote:
Originally Posted by osborne3 View Post
850 watt version i think i read it wrong im a newbie
Yeah you've got enough power for 2 of them in SLI and then some.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 06:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 8800 ultra power

Quote:
Originally Posted by osborne3 View Post
850 watt version i think i read it wrong im a newbie
Then you have enough power.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 06:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Default Re: 8800 ultra power

oh ok sweet thnx im new to this
__________________

osborne3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Free EVGA 680i SLI MB with the Purchase of an EVGA 8800 ULTRA jungleland New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-18-2007 07:34 AM
8800 Ultra benchmarks maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 12-18-2007 12:10 AM
8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ? viper880 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 07-03-2007 11:56 PM
Geforce 8800 Ultra SLI or quad core qx6800 advancedgeek New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-08-2007 10:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.