8800 Sli? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2007, 07:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default 8800 Sli?

How exactly are SLI cards compatable? Do they have to be exactly the same or just the same GPU?

For Example:
8800 GTS 320 MB + 8800 GTS 320 MB = Good

Would a 8800 GTS 320 MB + 8800 GTS Superclocked 320 MB work? I'm assuming it would since the superclock just means it was factory overclocked

Then... would a 8800 GTS 320 MB + 8800 GTS 640 MB work? The ram sizes are different, but other then that they are the same right?
__________________

commandercup is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: 8800 Sli?

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
How exactly are SLI cards compatable? Do they have to be exactly the same or just the same GPU?

For Example:
8800 GTS 320 MB + 8800 GTS 320 MB = Good

Would a 8800 GTS 320 MB + 8800 GTS Superclocked 320 MB work? I'm assuming it would since the superclock just means it was factory overclocked

Then... would a 8800 GTS 320 MB + 8800 GTS 640 MB work? The ram sizes are different, but other then that they are the same right?
yes and no, but a step up to the GTX is a cheaper alternative
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 08:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: 8800 Sli?

ok thanks

well I realize that buying a single 8800 GTX is more economical and in the end better for my PC, I don't have that sort of money now and I won't be buying the other GTS for a good year or so when the prices start going down (1 is more then enough for my gaming preferences)
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 08:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: 8800 Sli?

No, both has to be the same clock speeds in order for it to work.

So get two of the same brand cuz it will be guaranteed to be the same 100%. In order for SLI to work, you have to have two graphics card capable of doing it and with the same exact specs.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: 8800 Sli?

No, I think you can sli a Superclocked card with a standard version. And I also don't think they have to be the same brand. But you can't mix cards with different ram sizes.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 8800 Sli?

^thats right... but SLi will scale it closer to the lower clocked card...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: 8800 Sli?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
^thats right... but SLi will scale it closer to the lower clocked card...
oooo, IC, so I guess i'll just buy a regular clocked one down the road when I decide to go SLI

thanks everyone
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: 8800 Sli?

Also people have had success with mixing card brands with the same GPU, but it is risky.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 8800 Sli?

you can mix n' match brands... in older SLi configs you couldn't do that... because of the drivers, but now you can...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: 8800 Sli?

Oh, so I guess its the same way how Dual Channel works on a RAM.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 GTS runs Really *HOT*... Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 45 07-13-2007 10:32 PM
8800 GTS vs 8600 GTS RisingFalls New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-29-2007 08:28 AM
Question about the nVidia 8600 and the 8800 DasDaBizzatch New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-05-2007 12:20 AM
8800 GTS cooler solution dead.pixel New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-21-2007 11:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.