8800 in a pci-e 4x? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2007, 11:40 AM   #11 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: 8800 in a pci-e 4x?

ummmmm..yeah guys...the pcie x 4 slot is a different size/length than pcie x 16 slot (look at your motherboard).
so, unless you took some scissors to your card (lol dont do this really), it wont fit in the slot.
if you were trying to put a pcie x1 card into a larger slot, it would work fine.
ie you can use a pcie card in any slot that is at least as large as it is. but it doesnt work the other way around, ie you cant put x4 card in a x1 slot, or a x16 card in a x4 slot.
NO WORKIE.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 11:43 AM   #12 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: 8800 in a pci-e 4x?

o ok i see now i was thinking he had a pci e slot that was the size of a x16 but only ran at 4x speeds like alot of motherboards have with their secondary one (well they usually run at 8x but still the same concept)
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 11:46 AM   #13 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: 8800 in a pci-e 4x?

yes, that would work.
if that is the case, it will work.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 06:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default Re: 8800 in a pci-e 4x?

it is the same size as a 16x. All pci-e4x slots are. Newegg had it listed as: PCI-E16x Slots: 1 (max 4x-mode).
__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 06:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 8800 in a pci-e 4x?

Quote:
Originally Posted by suicide007 View Post
it is the same size as a 16x. All pci-e4x slots are. Newegg had it listed as: PCI-E16x Slots: 1 (max 4x-mode).
BS, show me the link
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 06:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default Re: 8800 in a pci-e 4x?

they stopped selling it on newegg a few months after i bought it.
__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 06:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 8800 in a pci-e 4x?

the 8800?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 07:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: 8800 in a pci-e 4x?

no the x4 will take a 8800gts as i have a times four slot and it is shorter but it doesnt have a wall that wil stop u its just an open slot so u can put longer cards in it i tried it with my 7900gt it works just the x4 will botle neck it a litle
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 07:05 PM   #19 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 8800 in a pci-e 4x?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
no the x4 will take a 8800gts as i have a times four slot and it is shorter but it doesnt have a wall that wil stop u its just an open slot so u can put longer cards in it i tried it with my 7900gt it works just the x4 will botle neck it a litle
oh i get it. thats a good explanation. Still....you wont get the x16 width the card needs and it wont be that much of an upgrade
also, TAKE A PICTURE OF THAT SLOT, i MUST have a look at it
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 07:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: 8800 in a pci-e 4x?

il try and post my mobo and circle the slot
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 Ultra benchmarks maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 12-18-2007 12:10 AM
8800 GTS vs 8600 GTS RisingFalls New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-29-2007 08:28 AM
Question about the nVidia 8600 and the 8800 DasDaBizzatch New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-05-2007 12:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.