8800 dual screen set up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2007, 09:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Question 8800 dual screen set up

Ok well i got my 8800 and its running just swell, so i today i picked up a 24" acer from best buy for 399 with a 50 dollar gift card coupon, i'd rather take 50 bucks now rather than deal with a 100 dollar rebate that i may or may not get 2-3 months down the line. My problem lies in that im not getting any options in the video settins for dual monitors, i have my old 20 inch hooked up to the secondary output, is there something special i need to do?
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 09:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: 8800 dual screen set up

I think there is a program which enables you to setup dual screen monitors. Someone posted the link up before but I don't seem to remember whom would of posted it.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 09:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 8800 dual screen set up

its in ur forceware thing, its there... its here on the forceware... but i can't find it... (this is the lib's system)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 10:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 8800 dual screen set up

Right click desktop.
Properties.
Settings tab.
Advanced.
Select your graphic card's tab.
Go to something like monitor setup or screen setup.
There is a selection of dualview, horizontal span, vertical span, and clone.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 11:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 8800 dual screen set up

Ya i checked the the normal settings property but it doesnt give me any option for dual monitor. I tried using the horizontal span but it looks like crap since one monitor is 1920x1200 adn the other is 1680x1050.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 11:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 8800 dual screen set up

On a sidenote, this monitor was totally worth the 399 bucks, with whatever rebate you can get ahold of. It took me a few hours to get used to it, i actually had to turn the brightness down to 0 and its still freaking bright.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 11:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 8800 dual screen set up

When this happened to me...After I hooked up the secondary monitor, I had to restart, and download the drivers for the secondary. Then it worked like a charm.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 11:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 8800 dual screen set up

Were you able to have it set up as primary/secondary? the only options im getting is clone and span, and span looks like complete crap.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 11:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 8800 dual screen set up

I have the dualview, horizontal and vertical span, and clone setting. I'm currently on dualview.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 12:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 8800 dual screen set up

Any idea how to get the dualview mode to show up?
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Screen Monitors - Questions about setting it up. FooFighter New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-03-2007 12:26 PM
Impressive Dual Screen Wallpapers Osiris Web Graphics and Design 0 06-20-2007 09:55 PM
Dual Screen WP? Sydzy Computer Audio and Multimedia 4 04-25-2007 09:37 PM
getting rid of a dual boot screen? TimBlanchard Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-04-2007 08:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.