8600GTS on this PSU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2007, 03:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default 8600GTS on this PSU?

I'm thinking of buying the eVGA 8600GTS, and it recommends a 300W PSU with 18A on 12v minimum , and this is what I have - Newegg.com - Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC ATX 430W Power Supply 115/230 V - Retail - a thermaltake 430w with 18a @ 12v. I'll have one hard drive, two 120mm case fans, and hopefully an overclocked 3600+ 65nm. So should I get a new PSU or is this all ok?
__________________

__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 04:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: 8600GTS on this PSU?

It should work but that's cutting it close. I would recommend something better than 8600GTS for the money but then you would have to upgrade your PSU.

I guess go with one but if worst comes to worst expect to pay another 37 bucks for an Xclio 450BL that will handle it fine.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 04:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default Re: 8600GTS on this PSU?

This is off topic but if I get an 8600GT will that overclock to GTS speeds? I also noticed that the GTS needs a PCI-E power connector while the GT doesn't, but they both recommend the same thing for power supplies..
__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 04:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: 8600GTS on this PSU?

The GT will overclock to GTS speeds probable yes. I'm not so sure about why it needs a PCI-E connector if they are rated the same amps really.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 04:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: 8600GTS on this PSU?

That psu is close but will work my system in my sig has slightly higher power requirements and runs fine but I am going to mod my system with lights and fans soon so I am buying a 550W to be on the safe side
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 05:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: 8600GTS on this PSU?

The 8600GTS only requires 70 watts according to NVIDIA. Then you're looking at about 65 watts for the 3600+ 65nm. One hard drive is about 25 watts. An optical drive is about 20 watts. Ram 20 watts per stick. 3 watts per 120mm case fan. USB devices about 5 watts each...

The 430 watt PSU is more then enough.

Problem you'll face though is that PSU only has (1) 18a rail and you're bound to have stability issues. If you're talking about overclocking, you should heavily consider dual, trio or quad rails. at least 18 a each. See, if you're planning on overclocking your CPu or ram to save a bit of money on the CPU, then you'll need to spend a bit more on a quality PSU.

Amperage is your friend.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8600GTS Save's us Gamers ? Oreo PC Gaming 20 04-23-2007 08:50 AM
$1000 Challenge... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 33 04-22-2007 01:34 PM
8600GTS Out Today!! j12 Off Topic Discussion 13 04-18-2007 07:32 PM
Buy me the first 8600GTS hehe!! hmammen New Systems | Building and Buying 26 04-17-2007 08:39 PM
After midrange DX10 cards come out... mrfluffles New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-07-2007 04:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.