8600GT good enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2007, 04:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default 8600GT good enough?

My neighbor just built a new computer and when i told him about the unreal 3 demo, he downloaded it right away and the graphics were amazing, and he had them on medium-high settings.

What i know about his computer is that it has 2gb ram, brand new core 2 duo (i think 2.8ghz)
I have both of those things in mine, but what he has that i don't is a nice graphic card. It was an Nvidia GeForce 7(something)00 and it had 256mb dedicated video ram, but somehow he got it to share with the system's ram and it went up to 1gb of video ram.

I don't have much extra money, but i found the GeForce 8600GT and it looks a little better than his and isn't too expensive, but what i was wondering is if all the GeForce cards can share the system memory like his did, or if it was just his card.

and will it play unreal 3 any better than his card?
__________________

__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 04:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: 8600GT good enough?

Video ram doesn't actually matter to much unless your planning on playing at a high res but if your on a budget that probably wouldn't happen. I believe Nvidia calls its memory sharing turbocache and the card needs to have that feature for you to share system memory.
The 8600gt should play UT3 fine (not fully maxed though) but theres other non-dx10 cards that you can get that are faster for about the same cost. ati x1950 is a good card.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: 8600GT good enough?

he has the 7500 decent built in gpu.
if your budget is $100ish, this card is a lot better
Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100199L Radeon X1950GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail

This card is awesome if you know how to overclock:
Newegg.com - Foxconn FV-N79SM2D2-OC GeForce 7900GS 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

though if you want DX10 support, 8600GT or 2600XT it is.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 05:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default Re: 8600GT good enough?

wow, those two links are nice deals.

i was wondering if unreal 3 would perform better with an Nvidia, because when you start up unreal, one of the startup screens is the "Built for Nvidia" screen.

On the requirements page for ut3, it also says ATI x1300 is recommended. how does the x1950 compare?

Recommended System Requirements
- 2.4+ GHZ Dual Core Processor
- 1 GBytes of System RAM
- NVIDIA 7800GTX+ or ATI x1300+ Video Card
- 8 GB of Free Hard Drive Space

and also, does the 8600 support turbocache?
__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 06:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: 8600GT good enough?

You can get 8600GTS for $117 after MIR
Newegg.com - Foxconn 8600GTS-256 GeForce 8600GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

And remember that UT3 is shader-intensive game. so this means that 8600GTS should perform better than 7900GT in this game
maroon1 is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 07:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: 8600GT good enough?

I'm pretty sure the 8600gt doesn't have that. Thats usually found on lower end cards or intergrated cards.

And all the other cards listed are waaaaaaaaaay better than a x1300 and 7500.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 07:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default Re: 8600GT good enough?

alright i see, but if i were to buy a lower end card and share the memory with the system memory and make it a 1gb card, would that be better than these other ones?

if not, then out of the two links posted and the 8600gt, which of the three would be the best for playing unreal 3?
__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 09:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default Re: 8600GT good enough?

i have also found quite a few 512mb cards on newegg for under 75 dollars. is this a good choice?
__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 10:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: 8600GT good enough?

With your budget ram doesn't matter as much. The ram will only be helpful in high resolution but the cards won't be fast enough to run them at high resolutions anyway. At lower resolution the extra ram won't help at all. Look up comparisons of the 8800gts 320mb and 640mb. Your see that they perform the same usually up to about 1600x1200.

I would go with either the 8600gts or the x1950gt that was posted.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 12:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: 8600GT good enough?

What about
Newegg.com - ASUS EAX1950PRO/HTDP/256M Radeon X1950PRO 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready Video Card - Retail
I'd choose this one
__________________

axborn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good, somewhat inexpensive laptop with good Linux support C_olin Laptops and Notebooks 1 09-10-2007 02:45 PM
A good fan controller? MildTweeker Overclocking and Modding 11 09-04-2007 06:27 AM
Good games for 7900gs krazyq PC Gaming 14 08-04-2007 11:45 PM
Upgrading from x850Xt to 8600GT rmNurse10 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-25-2007 09:20 PM
Good Webcam? SiZcO Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 04-07-2007 02:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.