800 DDR2 Ram Last Year Of '07??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2007, 06:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Default 800 DDR2 Ram Last Year Of '07???

If you don't know, Corsair realeased their new ram featuring 1.25k of memory.. And I was just curious: will the 800 DDR2 Ram still be great for gaming rigs? Or will we all have to be forced into the new ram for 07? (I know that we'll be buying 1k+ ram soon, but now? Will the 800 Memory still last my friends?
__________________

the:megalon is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 07:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

of coarse it will....DDR3 won't be being used anytime soon and the DDR2 standard is 533. There won't be any CPU's with 1600 FSB probably for another year to come at least.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 07:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Default

Yayuh
the:megalon is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 08:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

actually intel is planning on debuting its new bearlake chipset q2 07 so if all goes well we hould have ddr3 very soon
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 08:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

First line of DDR2 in a wiki entry.

DDR2 was introduced in the second quarter of 2003 at two initial speeds: 200 MHz (referred to as PC2-3200) and 266 MHz (PC2-4200). Both perform worse than their DDR equivalents since heightened latency makes total access times twice as long in the worst case scenario.

Hrrm DDR3 is coming out Q2 this year..where have I heard that before?

DDR2 will be here for a while, theres no doubting that.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 08:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default

athlons am3 will run ddr2 and ddr3
backup287 is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 08:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

It would be slower then becuase DDR3 will start off really slow just like DDR2 did.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 10:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

i wonder if we will have to run ddr3 at like 5 or 6 CAS. FTS.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 10:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

DDR2 was introduced at CAS6 I believe so wouldnt it be more like Cas9? That would SUCK.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 10:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

hrmph. dude if thats the case i hope amd has solved the problem of latency with am3. supposedly they improved on am2, and maybe they did a little...but CAS 9? lol not that much.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.