8 gigs of memory? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2007, 08:55 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

I know 8 gigs isn't necessary however I like to overkill. I understand what dual channel is now... but as I continue to search for 2 gig memory sticks... I can't seem to find any. Any ideas as to who sells them?

Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 09:21 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
veedubfreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

g skill and ocz both have 2gig sticks that i know of. But 4 gig of memory is overkill.

Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 12:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

yeah definately make sure u have a 64 bit OS
tomjennings83 is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 12:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
Those rock XD cant wait till canada gets em.

C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 02:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

nice price on 2gb sticks
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 07:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 389
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

Hot prices here
Newegg.com - Crucial 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Desktop Memory - Retail
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 07:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
Peter.Cort's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!)

expensive as **** but its 8gb
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 07:47 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
ahhhh!! Sticker Price Shock!!
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 04:56 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

8GB of memory is way to unecessary 2gigs is already enough 4 gigs would be for a super system i don't know why anyone would want 8gigs imo.

MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit

csaefong is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 06:15 AM
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition , Need Memory zerodayATK New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-10-2007 01:51 PM
Adding Memory? u4ic_fln System Upgrades 25 11-10-2007 12:58 PM
Bad Memory Captain Murphy Overclocking and Modding 2 11-06-2007 08:39 PM
/3GB switch, serious problems Forze Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-26-2007 12:54 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.