8 gigs of memory? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2007, 01:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default 8 gigs of memory?

I have an XFX nForce 680i LT SLI Motherboard and it says its capable of 8 gigs of memory: XFX nForce 680i LT SLI Motherboard, NVIDIA, Socket 775, ATX, Audio, PCI Express, SLI Ready, Gigabit LAN, SPDIF, USB 2.0 & Firewire, Serial ATA, RAID MB-N680-ILT in Canada at TigerDirect.ca
I've looked for memory before but I've never come across the memory this motherboard is talking about. Can somebody enlighten me and explain dual channel memory, and how I can get 8 gigs into 4 dimm slots? Also... if you know where I can get this memory, that would be helpful to! Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 01:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

4 sticks of 2gb sticks. And I have no clue how dual channel works, I would like to know too.
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 01:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

dual channel is when two sticks in a channel are running at the same freq.

most mobos have slots that are 0 1 2 3

0 and 2 being paired

1 and 3 being paired

as long as you put to equal/dual channel memories in 0/2 and 1/3 you got dual channel.

im running dual channel with 2x512(mushkin 533) and 2x1gb(gskill 800) 3gb total


also, you'll be looking for pc6400 memory. pretty standard.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 02:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

8 GB is a *lot* of memory. I don't think you would need that much.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 02:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aetherh4cker View Post
8 GB is a *lot* of memory. I don't think you would need that much.
precisely.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

I highly doubt it will even run with 8gb...it might if you loosen some timings and pump up the voltage to everything.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 03:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

There is no reason to get 8gb. Even 4gb is somewhat overkill for anything but very high end video processing. Also, to run in dual channel, you just make sure to use the matching ram slots. They are color coded on almost all boards.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 03:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

also most OS's can't even read 4. but i don't know about x86 bit os.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 03:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

Only 64bit OS can read past roughly 3.5gb of system memory, this includes the memory on your video cards.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 03:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: 8 gigs of memory?

You are very stupid if you get 8 gigs, unless it's a server or CAD or animation ect
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition , Need Memory zerodayATK New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-10-2007 02:51 PM
Adding Memory? u4ic_fln System Upgrades 25 11-10-2007 01:58 PM
Bad Memory Captain Murphy Overclocking and Modding 2 11-06-2007 09:39 PM
/3GB switch, serious problems Forze Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-26-2007 01:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.