8 GB's DDR2 RAM...a monster? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2006, 02:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

I know 8 GBs is a lot and it's unecessary but i was just saying in general.....how powerful would your computer be if you had 8 gigs of ram. A person mentioned that it wouldn't work unless it's used for a server which is probably right so i don't think there is any way of actually using it on a normal computer. But if you could, that could be a beast.
__________________

__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 02:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

No, it wouldn't be a beast. It will not improve performance until the system starts needing that extra RAM. It may even decrease performance slightly.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 02:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
No, it wouldn't be a beast. It will not improve performance until the system starts needing that extra RAM. It may even decrease performance slightly.
are you kidding it would decrease performance GREATLY
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 02:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

even if you had windows x64?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 02:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

And there is any proof? I would say under Vista it will give only a slight decrease in performance. But there isn't really a good benching of it to really see the difference in performace in real world.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 03:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
And there is any proof? I would say under Vista it will give only a slight decrease in performance. But there isn't really a good benching of it to really see the difference in performace in real world.
i still think it would. 8gb is ALOT of memory, even for vista
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 03:46 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

You could tweak your system and turn it into a ram drive, then your comp would be much faster.
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 06:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to Captain Buck
Default

my board supports 8gb of ddr2 and i bought it a year ago but really who needs 8gb?
Captain Buck is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 06:34 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

you could use it for Iram lol
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 10:41 AM   #20 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

There is far to much memory to allocate, your computer would be lagging behind everything you do, and the kid next to you with 2 gigs will be laughing at you.

Oh, and in 30-40 years there will be computers with 1 TB of RAM, but then on those computers you will have simulations of real life, full and depicted with full VR. Trust me, Bill Gates once said that 64K ought to be enough for anybody, and look at where we are now.
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.