7950GT with 1680x1050 good on games? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2007, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default 7950GT with 1680x1050 good on games?

Hello Im building a computer on sort of a budget when building a computer and I am getting a 22" Widescreen monitor with a res of 1680x1050. Only problem is while getting this monitor it cuts a pretty chunk of my money 299.99. I was thinking of ditching the monitor and getting a 8800GTS instead of the 7950GT but what good is a sick computer with a crap montior?(17" Dell CRT). You could have the best computer in the world and if you have a 15" monitor and your friends come over...or you want to play games.

You know what I mean? Well Basically I want to know if wit ha 7950GT Ill be able to get the very high FPS that I want on a montior with this resolution.

Games:

World of Warcraft/Burning Crusade
CounterStrike:Source
CounterStrike 1.6
Battlefield 2
Battlefield 2142
FEAR
Unreal Tournament 2007

The real main concern is probably BF and WoW I want very high frame rates with no lag.

So can this video card successfully play these games at this resolution with high frame rates?
__________________

Fayt19 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 06:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

It also depends on the rest of your system specs, like your processor and ram. But in a good gaming system I think a 7950GT can make good FPS on all those games, at those resolutions, except for UT07.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 06:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

well my build is E6600, 2GB Ram DDR2 800, Gigabyte DS3 or DP3 w/e it is. so what do you think?
Fayt19 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

The e6600, owns. So yea you'll see good fps with that resolution.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 07:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

so no lag at all you think?
Fayt19 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 08:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

7950 GT is a great card. you can also voltmod it and overclock it past 700MHZ.

I myself have a 22" Chimei monitor, at 1680 x 1050. it's worth it IMO.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

I have a 22" and a 7900GT (soon to be voltmodded) and here's my opinion.

World of Warcraft/Burning Crusade - Will play just fine (a friend plays on a 22")
CounterStrike:Source - works great
CounterStrike 1.6 - works great
Battlefield 2 - would work great
Battlefield 2142 - works great on my friends 20.1 (he has e6600 and 7900GT)
FEAR - Max resolution isn't 1680x1050 but some weird 1200ishx900ish one. You'll be able to run it at max settings with the 7950GT
Unreal Tournament 2007 - It would be unrealistic to expect this game to run at that resolution with everything maxxed with a stock 7950GT, but I'm sure it will still look great.

You'll be happy with the 7950GT + 22" as I love my setup with my 22" and 7900GT. Fortunately for me if a game gets too demanding I can just run it on my 19" :-p
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

how much FPS does he get? MAXed out lets say outside in the desert or something
Fayt19 is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 01:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

I don't know which game you're talking about, but both games (BF 2142 and WoW) were running smoothly, so at least 60 FPS.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 06:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

lol, CS:S could probably be maxed out on that card at those Res's, (atleast as far as i've seen) its not real demanding
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.