7950... Wtf? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2006, 02:34 PM   #31 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

Its not a card, its two and its rediculous. If both chips where on a single PCB and did the same thing that would be better.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 04:38 PM   #32 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/06/...orce_7950_gx2/

This is a nice option for those without SLI mobo's, and those who don't want to pay for 2 seperate $450 cards... If I had the cash, I would looke into getting one of these for my Shuttle...
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 05:43 PM   #33 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

Its still not the same as SLI.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 05:56 PM   #34 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Its not a card, its two and its rediculous. If both chips where on a single PCB and did the same thing that would be better.
It's a single card with two GPU's. It take up ONE PIC-E slot meaning it is ONE card. You can make something with 8 GPU's, if it takes up ONE PCI-E slot it is ONE card.

Sure I can see how someone says it's two cards, so what you have then is the best bang/buck SLI option as this thing stood toe to toe with a $1,000 worth of cards in SLI mode. Don't have SLI however, well you can pretty much experiance it now without replacing you motherboard.

Either way you look at it this is an extremly powerful card, they just put it out at the worst possible time.
Jag28 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 11:10 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jag28
It's a single card with two GPU's. It take up ONE PIC-E slot meaning it is ONE card. You can make something with 8 GPU's, if it takes up ONE PCI-E slot it is ONE card.

Sure I can see how someone says it's two cards, so what you have then is the best bang/buck SLI option as this thing stood toe to toe with a $1,000 worth of cards in SLI mode. Don't have SLI however, well you can pretty much experiance it now without replacing you motherboard.

Either way you look at it this is an extremly powerful card, they just put it out at the worst possible time.
What he meant was it uses two PCBs, so really it is two cards. What your saying is like if you took two playing cards out of a deck and placed them on top of each other means it becomes one card, which is false. It is just two GPUs with seperate PCBs using the same PCIe slot.

Spending anymore then 500 bucks on a video card(s) isn't a very logical choice at the moment. DX10 cards will be out less then 6 months, so by the time some godly game comes to challenge SLI 7900s (even oblivion doesn't) DX10 cards will be out or just around the bin.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 12:30 AM   #36 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default

And, about the dx10 games, you will still be able to run them on vista, just without the eye candy. All vista games will be dx9 enabled for the backwards compatibility, but also dx10 enabled for those who have "broken loose" from the dx9 cards. Still, i had plans to upgrade to a 7900gtx at the end of tis summer, but i decided to wait for the geforce 8 cards, which will be dx10.
__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 12:40 AM   #37 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

Quote:
What he meant was it uses two PCBs, so really it is two cards. What your saying is like if you took two playing cards out of a deck and placed them on top of each other means it becomes one card, which is false. It is just two GPUs with seperate PCBs using the same PCIe slot.
Exactly and thank you. Its two cards put together and SLId on one slot. Its better to have SLI on two slots. This is just a money gimmick to trick you into thinking its the same as SLI when its really not. It performs less than SLI, not by much, but still. Your best bet is if you want SLI performance then save and buy it period. Like ive said before, its rediculous. NOW, if you get 2 of these and SLID wellll, yea then rock on lol.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 08:12 PM   #38 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 31
Default

I know it performs less then SLI, I saw benchmarks for it and it performed worse then two 7900 GT's I believe, though not by much.

Quote:
NOW, if you get 2 of these and SLID wellll, yea then rock on lol.
Like I said, that would be the whole point of getting this card is to turn it into a quad SLI when the driver is released by Nivida, which is something I would love to try if I had the money. As a single card, this really is a waste because its not much above a 7900 GT KO but two of them working together would be a true sight to see.
__________________

Jag28 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.