7950... Wtf? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2006, 03:43 PM   #21 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The graphics will not automatically improve it you switch to DX10. They would have to be manually improved. It's like turning a 128kbps mp3 into a 320kbps mp3, it dosn't improve because you cant make it sound better than what you originally started out with. Same things goes for changing from DX9 to DX10, if they just port it nothing will change, but if they manually add new DX10-only effects, then it will look better.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 03:58 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Yeah thats a good point. Not sure anyway thats just off a website not from a forum.

http://www.tweaksrus.com/index.php?o...=443&Itemid=43
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 04:18 PM   #23 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default

Besides they where just saying that in general. If DX9 could look this good then imagine what DX10 would look like. Thats all they are saying.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 04:25 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Yeah. Im still pretty sure its DX10 compatible. Even if its not the graphics on it are LUSH!
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 04:29 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Tbh. This is dissapointing more than anything else. I may as well not upgrade the PC at all this (late) summer as originally planned...
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 08:36 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 31
Default

http://www.ukgamer.com/article.php4?id=323&page=1

Little article I found that talks a little bit about DX10 along with the R600 card ATI is producing. Looks like DX10 won't really be required for a good while.


On topic though, anyone know of any reviews about this card. Seems like it's way above anything else out right now and would love to read some more about it.
Jag28 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 08:59 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

The only DX10 game that is coming out this year (to my knowledge, tell if there is others) is Crysis, and even at an interview they said all the footage and screenies you have seen were all runing on single core CPUs and DirectX9 hardware (well some newer ones may have DX10 effects but even still, the ones in 9 look tasty). UT07 was designed around the 6800 and 7800 series of cards, so if you have a 7900 or X1900 card you should be fine (and Unreal Engine is DX9).

And if your wondering why the 7950 cards are only clocked at 500 each was because to get two G71 cores clocked at 650 it would require two 6-pin PCIe plugs for one of those cards(because it uses more power), meaning if you want to have two of them for quad SLI, you would need 4 6-pin PCIe plugs (pretty much all PSUs that have PCIe plugs only have 2). You could use molex to PCIe adapters but that will eat up a lot of plugs and you would need a HUGE amount of power. So SLI 7900 GTXs will eat one of these cards up.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 12:12 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 31
Default

From what I've seen on a few benchmarks 7900 GTX SLI really isn't all that superior to the 7950G2. Most games only do a few more FPS and when it gets as high as the benchmarks stated, the human eye can't even tell a difference.

At that point it isn't worth an extra $400-$500 especially when we will soon be able to quad SLI with cards like these. That will be insane.
Jag28 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 12:34 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

Actually, from what I have been reading the quad SLI doesn't even work yet. nVidia hasn't come out with the drivers to support it, *ouch*.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 01:15 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jag28
From what I've seen on a few benchmarks 7900 GTX SLI really isn't all that superior to the 7950G2. Most games only do a few more FPS and when it gets as high as the benchmarks stated, the human eye can't even tell a difference.

At that point it isn't worth an extra $400-$500 especially when we will SOON be able to quad SLI with cards like these. That will be insane.
I know it's not ready yet, never said it was. By years end however it will be though I'm sure with a few kinks.

This is a amazing card and if it wasn't for DX10 coming out soon I would already be saving up to get one. COurse by the time I'm done saving DX10 will be a standard.
__________________

Jag28 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.