7900gtx clock speeds - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2006, 04:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default 7900gtx clock speeds

right i have a ASROCK dual sata2 motherboard im running windows xp64bit and i have just got a xfx 7900gtx with the clock speeds as 520/1500 problem is its not running at that its running at 520/750 i cant get it to run at the right speed i was going to RMA it thinking it is a bad memory problem just wondering does anyone else know why this would happen by the way im running this on hiper type r sli ready 580 watt power supply and im not experiencing any atrifacting what so ever playing bf2, im playing bf2 at max gfx settings with no problems!
__________________

atopork is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 05:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

First off, it's called a period...located just to the right of the comma, or just to the left of the question mark...

You probally have a bad card. RMA it. This happens to quite a few people with 7900GTX's.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 09:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
You probally have a bad card. RMA it. This happens to quite a few people with 7900GTX's. [/B]
first off there isnt anything wrong with the card it is double data rate memory (DDR) so you double the speed 750x2 = 1500, if you didnt know what you where talking about you shouldent have answered.

period
atopork is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 05:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

If you knew that you double the speed with DDR memory, why did you ask then?

What then is the problem?

Sounds to me like you answered your own question.

And I agree with CrazeD, you're more likely to get a decent response if you bother to use language other people can understand.
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 02:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default

ur card is fine unles u get any artifacting i know i have rma'd 2 7900gts so far both defective with artifacts even under clocking didnt worck
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 09:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by magouster
If you knew that you double the speed with DDR memory, why did you ask then?

What then is the problem?

Sounds to me like you answered your own question.

And I agree with CrazeD, you're more likely to get a decent response if you bother to use language other people can understand.
I found the answer on another forum. And about the use of language well im english not american so i think i know. This is a forum not a book club.

I dont come on here for skitty responses about the way i type in a forum.
atopork is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 02:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Yo dude if your going to act like this with 10 posts the get out of here. Go onto that other forum. We don't want immature people here *****in' at other people because they tried to help. He just read it wrong alright so calm down.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 04:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
First off, it's called a period...located just to the right of the comma, or just to the left of the question mark...

sorry but i think that was been skiity. But if im wrong then sorry just I dont see what the big deal is about (.)
atopork is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 05:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by atopork
sorry but i think that was been skiity. But if im wrong then sorry just I dont see what the big deal is about (.)
Yeah for real man, use some good grammar. It took me a few times reading to finally understand what you were trying to say... Not try to be too critical, but even when you're talking on the internet its good to use a LITTLE bit of grammar, otherwise people can't understand you.
Had you used a period to mark the end of your sentences, CrazeD would've been able to understand you and answer your question better. And I second reggie_da_man, pack up and leave if you're going to act like that.
edit: btw, CONGRATS on using those periods in that sentence. /golfclap
</drama>
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.