7900gt 512mb ($360) or 7900gtx ($419 after rebate)? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2006, 03:23 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
Dangerous?
Your kidding right?

Have you even tried it?

Volt modding my GPU was probably the easiest thing Iv ever done.


and yes Im at GTX speed...and above.....Its not hard at all...

Just make sure you sink your IC's and your good to go.
But if something were to screw up, you would be screwed.

BTW, just noticed the new avataar. It's pretty cool. Also like the quote in your sig. From Happy Gilmore, correct?
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 04:02 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
Dangerous?
Your kidding right?

Have you even tried it?

Volt modding my GPU was probably the easiest thing Iv ever done.


and yes Im at GTX speed...and above.....Its not hard at all...

Just make sure you sink your IC's and your good to go.
I'm planning on voltmodding my new 7900 GT. did you do yours on stock cooling?
ATM I'm on stock cooling, and I've been holding off the voltmod till I get a VF900.

anyway, which IC's do you sink? all 3 in the bottom corner?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 10:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I wouldnt voltmod anything until i get a new hs/f. I think with the vf900 you should be able to get passed gtx speeds.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 12:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
But if something were to screw up, you would be screwed.

BTW, just noticed the new avataar. It's pretty cool. Also like the quote in your sig. From Happy Gilmore, correct?
Thats true haha I mean you could accedently give it 1.7 voltage and as soon you boot up it will fry lol

and yeah happy gilmore is my favorite movie


Quote:
Orginally Posted by apokalipse

I'm planning on voltmodding my new 7900 GT. did you do yours on stock cooling?
ATM I'm on stock cooling, and I've been holding off the voltmod till I get a VF900.

anyway, which IC's do you sink? all 3 in the bottom corner?
Yeah def wait for VF900. I did mine on a vf900 as I have heard some funny stories where people did say the 1.55 volt mod on stock cooling and there idle tepm was somewhere around 76 degrees.....

As for the IC's Il circle them for you.


You should only need 2 heatsinks as mine cover all 3. but you only need to cover 2 of them and I figure covering all 3 couldnt hurt.

I also did the GPU mod lines. Its a little sloppy and your best bet is to look online somewhere else for a higher res pic. Hey I tried

and of course the GT equiped with el vf900 and heatsinks!



to Sum it up its pretty easy if you just know what your doing and dont act stupid
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 06:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
Thats true haha I mean you could accedently give it 1.7 voltage and as soon you boot up it will fry lol

and yeah happy gilmore is my favorite movie




Yeah def wait for VF900. I did mine on a vf900 as I have heard some funny stories where people did say the 1.55 volt mod on stock cooling and there idle tepm was somewhere around 76 degrees.....

As for the IC's Il circle them for you.
*pic*

You should only need 2 heatsinks as mine cover all 3. but you only need to cover 2 of them and I figure covering all 3 couldnt hurt.

I also did the GPU mod lines. Its a little sloppy and your best bet is to look online somewhere else for a higher res pic. Hey I tried

and of course the GT equiped with el vf900 and heatsinks!
*pic*


to Sum it up its pretty easy if you just know what your doing and dont act stupid
thanks for circling the IC's in the pic. I was looking on xtremesystems and they didn't make it clear which IC's exactly you should heatsink, they just had a pic of them all.

anyway, did you do the mod to increase the switching frequency? (put a 100k ohm resistor in paralell with one on the card, or do a pencil mod)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 07:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

No problem

No I didnt do any pencil stuff like that. I just did the Conductive pen Mod and thats it

After that 1.4 volt mod, im now Im cruising at 780/880
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 01:32 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

780MHZ at 1.4V, that's great. on xtremesystems most people got around 720MHZ with 1.55V and a switching frequency mod.

maybe I'll try 1.4 first, then try 1.55, and see which one I can get better clocks with.
anyway, I'm aiming for at least 750, but I'll be happy with over 700
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 02:05 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

oh my god hahaha wow what a mistake.


680!!! oops


haha Yeah I would go easy at first....

going to is 1.5V is pushing the buck type VRM and may require more extensive rework, that's what i've heard.....so go easy at first.

But yeah 680 is high for 1.4...wow 780 people must think im a fool...

I might be going to 1.5 but im not sure as its benifts arent as great.....I might...il have to read some more on it....Apok keep us posted if you do a mod, id like to hear your results and compare and such.


All I know is after doing the GPU volt mod my memory would break 900 like it used to. I read this was common. any way yeah
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:49 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'm not so concerned about the memory. without cooling or volt mods it can get 900 (I think I got lucky with this card)
though the memory doesn't make a big difference.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:53 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Yeah mine was capable of 940 stable but after the volt mod it wouldnt budge past 884
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.