7800GT or the GTX - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2005, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default 7800GT or the GTX

Should I get a 7800GT or a 7800GTX because I think a 3700+ might bottleneck a 7800GTX.

Also I hear you can unlock the 4 extra pipelines on the GT.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 03:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

They don't bottleneck each other as such, like having ram at a lower speed to the cpu bus speed.

Looking at the specs you can afford in your sig, I would get the X1800?

Anyway, I have a 7800gt oc paired up with a AMD 64 3000. And you can always overclock it to a nice high speed.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 03:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

I keep hearing that a GTX would be held up from the CPU that isn't really fast.

7800GTX VS 7800GT with a 3700+ CPU; If there isn't as much of an improvment I think I'll just get a GT that comes with COD2 and save 100 bucks.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 04:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

no the only bottleneck would be anything lower then a 3000+ there you start to lose around 10-20fps compared to an FX

get a 7800GT if your on a budget, get the GTX if you can afford it
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 04:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Get the GT and overclock it like it's a GTX. Your processor is strong. Heck, my PC could handle the 7800GTX, especially if I kicked it up to 3500+ speeds.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 04:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

I'll have to think about which one I should get.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 04:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

The GT handles games just fine, my friend gets 180FPS in source, thinkg about that.... he has a 3700+ also
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 05:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

The problem arises when you have a high-end GFX card and a mid to lower end CPU if you are trying to run games at their highest settings and the monitors highest resolution. Anything over 1280X1024 will be tough for a mid to lowend CPU to give the GFX card what it needs.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 12:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Yeah i'd go with the 7800 GT, then read up on unlocking those extra pipelines to make it like a GTX.
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 12:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

Your CPU has more than enough power to handle that GTX. You dont have to have an FX-57 to run it.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.