7800gs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2006, 05:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 46
Default 7800gs

Hi all, i am thinking of upgrading my system to a 7800GS grahpics card, my pc can only use AGP cards so it is best card i can buy (so i have heard). There is a large price difference between the 256mb and the 512 mb card, is it worth the extra money for the extra memory, and what difference will it make. DO you know how well it could run BF2142? Thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________
Curt
Krustis is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 05:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

it's a good card that'll play any game out there right now on med/high settings. I have one in one of my systems and it played the 2142 demo on med... (I left it at what it recommended, and didn't tweak it)

But I didn't know there was a 512 version?? but if you can.. found this, if you can buy it this weekend:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814143046
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 05:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 46
Default

Thanks for fast reply, what kind of framerate did u get on medium, becuase on my current 6600GT it can drop to 15 for minutes at a time.
__________________
Curt
Krustis is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 06:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

truthfully... it lagged a little (sparingly) but I didn't check to see what kind of rates I was getting... (I'm not that worried about it... if it'll play it without lag, I'm happy...) but I think the lagging was from all the stuff I had open and not the game/gpu... but you will see a big difference in the cards, if you get it.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 06:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 46
Default

Brilliant thanks a lot, will the extra 256mb make a lot of difference if i can get the 512 one?
__________________
Curt
Krustis is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 01:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Not sure at all. you be looking to play future games?
timmy3193 is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 01:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Krustis
Brilliant thanks a lot, will the extra 256mb make a lot of difference if i can get the 512 one?
no you will not see a big difference between 256MB and 512MB

Just get this and you will be happy
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814143046
maroon1 is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 12:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 46
Default

Thanks people, in that case i think i will get the 256, cheers. I do intend to play future games tho yes. Will i be able to install dx10 and use it with the 7800?
__________________
Curt
Krustis is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 05:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to Animemandan
Default

Nope.

At least, not from what I've seen.
Animemandan is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 05:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

as of now... games are going to be backwards compatible with DX9, so your good. But it's not known yet when the day will come that it's DX10 only...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

« mobo? | what card? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.